Three Viddys


I see a clock, but I cannot envision the clockmaker. The human mind is unable to conceive of the four dimensions, so how can it conceive of a God, before whom a thousand years and a thousand dimensions are as one ?

Albert Einstein

___________________________________________

It is Easter, happy Easter BTW, and frankly I am going to sleep in a little bit, so I am doing a really short post tonight.  If I had time, I would write on politics and news, the effect of last weeks jobs news, of the biggest jump in employment numbers in three years on the stock market.  If I had time I would write at length about the nutjob radio host who threatened the governors of all 50 states with letters or faxes of some kind and the crazy crap his organization thinks.

If I had time I would write about a great many things, but my time is short, so I am going to toss out a few viddys from a  movie or two I like, and a few quotes.  Actual news and politics when I can get to it.

___________________________________________

First up, a trailer from Seven Samurai.  One of the best movies ever.  Enjoy.

We all want to live. And in large part we make our logic according to what we like. But not having attained our aim and continuing to live is cowardice. This is a thin dangerous line. To die without gaining one’s aim is a dog’s death and fanaticism. But there is no shame in this. This is the substance of the Way of the Samurai. If by setting one’s heart right every morning and evening, one is able to live as though his body were already dead, he gains freedom in the Way. His whole life will be without blame, and he will succeed in his calling.

Yamamoto Tsunetomo, Hagakure

____________________________________________

As if to turn a  full 180 degrees from the seriousness of the previous movie, here’s some fun from “Bill and Ted’s excellent adventure”  Nothing says love like Bill and Ted!  Excellent!

Bill: Hello, royal ugly dudes! I am the Earl of Preston!
Ted: And I am the Duke of Ted!
Henry VII: Put them in the iron maiden.
Ted: Iron Maiden?
Bill and Ted: Excellent! [air guitar]
Henry VII: Execute them.
Bill and Ted: Bogus!

______________________________________________

Ya, I’m about done, but not before tossing out a little political content, and since I’m ten minutes from sleep right now, Let me hand things over to the capable hands of Keith Olbermann.  Fun with Census stuff. 

Go to sleep, America.

Leave a Reply

