Some Interesting Tidbits From Douglas Adams, And Some Crap From Me


If you are reading this on planet Earth then: a) Good luck to you. There is an awful lot of stuff you don’t know anything about, but you are not alone in this.
b) Don’t imagine you know what a computer terminal is.

Douglas Adams

______________________________________________

While I sit here with headphones on listening to the melodious sounds of Bach’s Pastorale for organ played on guitar on Pandora become the beautiful sounds of Heitor Villa-Lobos, I am trying my best to ignore the sound pouring in from the television, and I have to be honest, I am slightly annoyed by it, even though the sound at this point pouring in is of the Rangers playing the Florida Panthers and winning (GO RANGERS). 

The light is too harsh, the sound from the outside is far too much, and it seems the world is trying to draw my attention from my writing and the peace of mind I am trying to establish so I can be calm and relaxed while I sit here and write.  The cat incessant in its need for attention, the ads and sports play by play clamoring for attention, my wife interrupting from time to time, seeking attention. 

I crave darkness and silence, and the whole world wants my attention, and just for a minute I want to withdraw away from it.  But tethered I am here by my headphones, and my want to blog. Tethered to my wants, rather than the needs of the world around me.  Selfish, weak little Mikey.  I shouldn’t bitch, there are far worse things in the world than to be inconvenienced in this manner, minor as it is. 

And as I change up the music, back to Bach, but now with the Berlin Chamber Orchestra on a different channel playing the Brandenburg Concerto no. 2, so I change my mindset, and relax.

___________________________________________

“Hey, er …” said Zaphod, “what’s your name?” The man looked at him doubtfully. “I don’t know. Why, do you think I should have one? It seems very odd to give a bundle of vague sensory perceptions a name.”

Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

___________________________________________

Relaxation was easy after realizing that the problem was in fact me.  I wanted darkness.  I wanted silence.  Too damn bad, If the world is noise and light and I want darkness and silence, there isn’t really much way to get that, now is there?  You can rant about how the world is doing things to you that you don’t want, and fight it, stupidly. Or you can accept that things happen that you have little if any control over, and if they are minor, they can be lived with.

Plus this day has been a “house husband” day anyway.  The wife hurt herself a bit yesterday, and is sore all over, and the damn house was a mess.  It needed to be cleaned, so I spent several hours giving the place the once over.  The place just looks better without that fine layer of “cat” on everything.  But I tell ya, The last thing I wanted to do was to do that, but dammit, it had to be done.

Since it has been that kind of day, I should have known better than to think that I was going to get peace and quiet. 

Silly rhino.

_____________________________________________

Imagine a puddle waking up one morning and thinking, ‘This is an interesting world I find myself in, an interesting hole I find myself in, fits me rather neatly, doesn’t it? In fact it fits me staggeringly well, must have been made to have me in it!’ This is such a powerful idea that as the sun rises in the sky and the air heats up and as, gradually, the puddle gets smaller and smaller, it’s still frantically hanging on to the notion that everything’s going to be alright, because this world was meant to have him in it, was built to have him in it; so the moment he disappears catches him rather by surprise. I think this may be something we need to be on the watch out for.’

Douglas Adams; From a speech at Digital Biota 2, 1998

Leave a Reply

