Shakespeare Says Relax


Our doubts are traitors,
And make us lose the good we oft might win,
By fearing to attempt.

Shakespeare; Measure for Measure; act i, scene iv

____________________________________________________

I am taking it easy tonight.  I’ve had a long day. 

Got up before 5 am, went running without coffee in me for the first time ever, while doing a pre-dawn run for the first time ever. Made the run slow, but it was cool.

Came home, had coffee and a snacky cake, wrote here in the running commentary about my caffeine free run, realized I was running late, got my ass in gear, and got out to work on time.

With almost enough coffee in me.  Got my salami sammich made, packed my food, didn’t forget anything.

I felt good about that.

The bus ran a bit late, but not too late, got to the ferry just in time for the 7:15 boat, got on the boat, and all of a sudden I was tired, and I slept on the boat.  It helped that I was listening to an audiobook of Freud’s “Dream Psychology”.  Nothing wrong with snoozing to a good read on the boat, right?

Got off of the boat, made all the connections and got to work a few minutes early.  Which I needed to do, needed to get some extra work clothes, all the stuff I had was dirty. Got the stuff, got changed, got my assignment.

Cake work again.  Nice.  But it’s work that hurts my back and feet.  Standing around looking like a guard, helping people find what they need and answering questions about the stuff on the floor I work on.  Easy, but this is the third time in two weeks I’ve done it, and the second time I’ve done it where I ended up with a splitting headache.  I’m gonna start carrying painkillers with me.

Work was slow, and that’s always nice, but I could do without the headache.

_____________________________________________

There’s nothing ill can dwell in such a temple:
If the ill spirit have so fair a house,
Good things will strive to dwell with ’t. 

Shakespeare; The Tempest;  scene ii act i

I’ve been saying it for a while.  You who follow me know this.  Told you even before they knew they had the votes to get it done in that they would get it done. Health care passed.

Was there ever any doubt? Both sides played this about as well and as hard as they could have, and did everything they could to make this about as dramatic as possible.  There was invective on both sides.  There was ridicule and anger from the right, and anger and distrust from the left. 

But you knew this was going to happen, from moment one.  The republicans wanted this passed with no repub votes, so they can blame dems for it, because they don’t believe it is good.  The democrats wanted it passed because they do believe this is good, and were willing to take anyone along who was going there way.

I prefer the democratic path of inclusion, to the republican path of exclusion.

_____________________________________________

How many ages hence
Shall this our lofty scene be acted over,
In states unborn and accents yet unknown!

Shakespeare; Julius Caeser; act iii, scene i

Gute Nacht!

Leave a Reply

