Easy, Except For The Headache


I spent my day doing things which I have to admit were pretty damn easy, and I got paid for it.  I won’t describe particulars, because I don’t want to give away where I was working, I want privacy on-line, and as such will give it unless I have their express permission to speak, and I would fully expect anyone speaking about me to, on some level, do the same. 

The early part of the day I spent not doing much.  First hour or so I did…nothing.  Not complaining, but when you want to make a good impression on the boss, the last thing you want to be seen doing is…nothing.  So when work showed up, I fairly well jumped at it.  And when it showed up, I was fairly busy, running around between floors in this building, moving tables and whatnot. Easy when you have a dolly to move stuff, no worries.

The second half of the day I was a glorified security guard.  I ended up with a headache because of a lack of caffeine and my back was sore from standing up in essentially one place for longer than I have in over a year.  But it was wonderful, because I was getting paid for it.  I like money, when people give it to me, I like that, especially for stuff I think of as easy. Standing around is not a difficult job.

I didn’t get all the paperwork done I was supposed to, but that is on the boss there, It will get done on Wednesday, no worries. 

Going to go deal with bankruptcy stuff tomorrow, back to the job Wednesday.

____________________________________________________

I don’t know when I am going to run next, because of work, but I am sure that I won’t be running more than 3x a week on weekdays and short runs at that, in large part because I’m getting up at 6:00 am now to get to work on time, and don’t get back til about 7:15 – 7:30pm, so it’s either going to be pre-dawn running or night running, Not sure which one I’ll go with, but at this point I am leaning towards pre-dawn running.  That may change.  We’ll see.

Now a quick news blurb…

_____________________________________________________

You’ve heard the news about the Obama administration being unhappy about the way the Netanyahu Gov’t is building settlements in east Jerusalem.  And there is a real issue with it, but right now it looks like there is a more foreboding immediate problem coming up, and it may well begin to show up in the next few hours. 

Hamas has announced a “day of rage” in response to the upcoming dedication of the restored Hurva synagogue, which was destroyed in war with Jordan over 60 years ago.  This on top of the building of settlements in East Jerusalem, and always simmering hatred burning between Israel and Hamas.  There have been protests in the past days, and PLO leader Yasser Rabo, as well as Egyptian and Jordanian diplomats have warned of bloodshed if the Synagogue is dedicated.

Just another day in Israel.

____________________________________________________

Supreme court justice John Paul Stevens, the courts oldest member at 89, who has served on the high court for 35 years, says he will decide whether he will retire or not in the next month or so.  He says he will definitely retire in the next 3 years.  But speculation has been rampant about Justice Stevens and his impending retirement even before President Obama naming Sonia Sotomayor to the high court.

I personally do not want to see Stevens retire.  He is a good man, still doing good work now like he was when he first joined the court in 1975.  But this may be the best time, politically for him to retire, now, at the end of this term, before the beginning of the next term, not only of the Supreme Court, but in congress.  If the President wants to keep some kind of balance in the court, he will have an easier time getting someone he wants, someone to lean left to keep the court from leaning too far to the right, if he gets it through before the democrats lose how many ever seats  they will lose in the November ’10 elections.

I really like you Justice Stevens.  If you care for your vision of the court, a vision you share with our President, your retirement  now would be a prudent decision.

_______________________________________________

That’s it for me.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, , By George Washington, via wikiquote:  A slender acquaintance with the world must convince every man, that actions, not words, are the true criterion of the attachment of his friends, and that the most liberal professions of good will are very far from being the surest marks of it. I should be happy that my own experience had afforded fewer examples of the little dependence to be placed upon them.

The preservation of the sacred fire of liberty, and the destiny of the republican model of government, are justly considered as deeply, perhaps as finally staked, on the experiment entrusted to the hands of the American people.

Leave a Reply

