Working On It


For those of you who read this space for political commentary, you’ve probably been somewhat disappointed the last few days.  There is a reason I’ve been kind of short on politics, and it really is simple.  I’ve been focused a bit more on my running,  on playing my guitar a bit more, but mostly a greater and sharper focus on getting a job.  Not that I wasn’t focused before, but I have had no luck lately, so I changed things up a bit.  Seems to have worked, at least a little bit. I had an interview last week! And I spoke to the people there and apparently they may actually like me. Now it is only a temp job, and may only go 6 months, but there is a chance that it may go permanent.

I am running the risk of actually being employed sometime in the near future!  I don’t want to sound too happy about it prematurely,  because I’ve been happy before in this job search and gotten shot down, so I’m gonna keep a very even keel here. 

I’ll be talking to them on Tuesday.  Wish me luck!

Now, it’s time to get back to the politics.

______________________________________________

I like my President. I like this health care bill.  I want to see it signed into law.  

The President has asked, as you can see in the viddy above, for a vote on health care reform, a straight up and down vote, and soon. Another deadline, but a doable one this time it seems, has been put out there.   To hear Republicans tell it, the end of the world is near.   My favorite quote has to be Orrin Hatch saying that  “You cannot ignore the fact we’re talking about, the first time in history, sweeping social legislation will be passed.” Because we clearly as a nation have NEVER passed sweeping social legislation before.

Either he’s speaking in code to somebody or he’s an idiot.  Neither possibility can be counted out. 

Now I like Orrin, and Republicans really aren’t bad people, they’re just…. slow as far as economics are concerned.  They believe in the laffer curve, supply side economics and cutting taxes without cutting programs.  That last one has been a hallmark of theirs for years, and was the main way the government did things while President Obama’s predecessor was in office. 

This bill more than pays for itself, and pares down the deficit, which is why the Republicans are so keen to kill it.  The Republicans don’t want to be shown for the economic idiots that they are.  They can’t control the economic message if the President up and proves them wrong by showing them how it’s done WITHOUT raising taxes, now can they?

So if the Republicans don’t want to help, so be it.  The Democrats will go it alone, and, like adults, take whatever praise, or damnation that goes along with standing on their own two feet without the crutch that is the Republican party.

_____________________________________________

A quick aside:

I went to the Staten Island St. Patrick’s day parade today.  Twas nice.  Basically stood in one place and watched the world pass me by, to be honest.  Wasn’t very social.  Should have been, but I wasn’t. My apologies to anyone who feels slighted by that.  Nothing personal.

A fair number of politics figures showed up there.  Mayor Bloomberg was there.  My younger brother and I called him as asshole, and got stared at by a few cops for it.  I, for one, smiled at them.  Let’em do something we said, we have free speech here.  Fcuk’em. 

Saw Sen. Schumer, who said something like America needs more Irish people.  I believe my response was “LET’S GO YANKEES”, because I’m odd like that. Plus I know he’s a Yankee fan.  He’s cool in my book.  Saw Reps. Mike McMahon and Anthony Weiner there. They were cool. 

Tea Party Patriots showed up as well.  A few hundred.  Twas nice.  They are silly.  They got some lukewarm support from the crowd, the most support I saw was from my younger brother, the same one who thought bloomberg was an asshole.  He says they’re independent.  I called bullshit on him. 

Twas fun, and a good time was had by all.  More happened, but nothing earth shattering, nothing that need be mentioned here.

______________________________________________

Back to politics for a minute, with a political ad.

This issue is next up after health care, and it should be fun.  THIS is where we will see if the Republicans really are the party of no.  Reigning in abuses on wall street by passing regulation is a highly popular view in these United States.  Now normally, the Republicans have been the laissez-faire party, the people who want to just let business take care of itself how it wants to.  They’ve been there for ages, it’s a basic part of the party’s economic platform.  But with anti-wall street fervor still gripping much of America (just ask them), it would be hard for them to sit back and ride the old platform the way they always have. 

One presumes that the Republicans will come up with a plan that regulates wall street, but not nearly as much as the Democratic plan, so that they can be seen as trying to do something, while decrying the Democrats as anti-business demagogues.

________________________________________________

That’s it from here.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  As a people, we have become obsessed with Health. There is something fundamentally, radically unhealthy about all this. We do not seem to be seeking more exuberance in living as much as staving off failure, putting off dying. We have lost all confidence in the human body.  Lewis Thomas

The best six doctors anywhere
And no one can deny it
Are sunshine, water, rest, and air
Exercise and diet.
These six will gladly you attend
If only you are willing
Your mind they’ll ease
Your will they’ll mend
And charge you not a shilling.

Anonymous nursery rhyme set to the tune of “Yankee Doodle”, quoted in “The Health Club” in School Life, Vol. IV (January – June 1920), p. 17

Leave a Reply

