The 120 Days of Christmas


The 120 days of Christmas? On March 5th? What the hell is that about? I’ll tell you.  I’m just plain odd in some ways. My Christmas tree, which I put up sometime before Thanksgiving, just came down today.  What can I say? I love Christmas, I love having a Christmas tree up, I love the subdued lighting it affords.  I love the feeling having one up engenders.

Aaaaaaand I love being (in all likelihood) THE last person on earth with a Christmas tree up.  I had the Christmas music blasting when I took it down as well.  Wall to wall Sinatra and Crosby.  It was GREAT.  Surprisingly, a job that took hours and hours to get up and put together took less than 45 minutes to break down.  Which brings me to a larger point…

Oh, wait, no it doesn’t.  Sorry!  🙂

_____________________________________________

It is still technically winter, but it is getting warmer out.  And there have been a lot of warm spots this winter.  It’s hard to forget the snowstorms that we had this winter, but do you remember the weather overall?  That 3 week stretch in January where it was regularly over 40 degrees, and actually hit the mid 50’s? Remember that? It’s hard to forget the cold snap when the highs peaked at 14 degrees, but do you remember how cold December was? No? Want to know why? Because it wasn’t cold. 

This winter was a great deal wetter, and as a result more memorably annoying than most, but beyond that, this winter was, unfortunately, not much different than most of the winters of the last 10 years.  I like the cold.  And I can count on the fingers of one hand the really cold days we had here in New York City.  Windy? Oh yeah, but it’s ALWAYS windy in winter, regardless of temperature in winter. 

And in spring.

And in the fall.

Trust me I am an all weather runner, I think I took one day off because of cold. One.  And that was more because of wind than cold.  23 degrees isn’t that cold, not if you are running.  But 23 degrees with 40 to 50 MPH winds, placing wind chills at -15 to -20, I wanted no part of it.

Plus I have no face covering, just a wool knit hat, and I would have on that day frozen my face off.  It might be ugly, but it’s mine, I like it, and I want to keep it.  Most of the rest of the time I ran without any real issue.  Snow and mud were greater issues, particularly during the last month.

__________________________________________

I miss the tree already.  I think it’s about time for me to go.  I’m going to go listen to some Christmas music. Some classical Christmas music.

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  Many of the phenomena of Winter are suggestive of an inexpressible tenderness and fragile delicacy. We are accustomed to hear this king described as a rude and boisterous tyrant; but with the gentleness of a lover he adorns the tresses of Summer.  Henry David Thoreau

Patience is the ballast of the soul, that will keep it from rolling and tumbling in the greatest storms: and he, that will venture out without this to make him sail even and steady will certainly make shipwreck, and drown himself; first, in the cares and sorrows of this world; and, then, in perdition.  Ezekial Hopkins

Leave a Reply

