DILLIGAFF


I believe I just read what may be the most blisteringly obvious headline I’ve ever read, from CNN:  McConnell predicts no senate GOP support for health care bill. 

In other obvious news:  The Sun will rise in the east and set in the west.   Water is wet .  The Sky is blue.

Seriously for just a second though, is anyone really surprised by that?  Is that a prediction that is newsworthy in any way?  First off, what is he supposed to predict, that his party will abandon it’s political platform and basic philosophy and join the Democrats on this vote?  I KNOW they aren’t going to vote for it.  

My wife knows it, my cats know it, hells donkeys, the Norwegian curling team knows it at this point.  We know he said it, twice.  He probably says it in front of his bathroom mirror a few times a day to make sure he’s got the lines down, if someone asks about it.  He’s been saying it since the words “health care debate” came up in serious discussion.  He is one of the heads of the party of no.

C’mon, there’s gotta be something ELSE newsworthy he said, ya know? 

And frankly all I have to say is : DILLIGAFF

________________________________________________

BTW, I am going to shoot my computer.  Damned thing crashed on me when I was trying to write the piece I wrote above.  Crashed my system completely 3 times… and each time when I was trying to embed the link for the Norwegian curling team.  Guess my ‘puter couldn’t handle those damn pants!

_________________________________________________

A hearty congratulations to the Canadian team on their overtime victory vs. the American hockey team.  The Americans played a spirited game, and even though they scored with less than 30 seconds left in regulation to push the game to overtime, once overtime came, they weren’t able to generate the kind of pressure on Roberto Luongo in the 4 on 4 overtime format that they were able to in regulation, and it was really only a mater of time until someone put one behind Ryan Miller, and you knew it was going to be Sidney Crosby.

You can’t call him “Sid the Kid” anymore.  He ain’t a kid.  You can call him “The Man” from now one.   

________________________________________________

Oh Joy!  Another soon to be potential landmark supreme court case.  Any regular readers of this website know how I feel about the last time these 9 made a major decision.  But maybe I shouldn’t be too concerned, this is a second amendment case.  I actually liked the heller decision, which was the last major second amendment decision they made.  This decision however might be a bit too much, if they expand the second amendment too much and loosen all restrictions on gun ownership. 

Nothing personal gun nuts and NRA enthusiasts, but I don’t want to live in a world where EVERYONE has a hand cannon.  Too many unstable people out there, and I ride the bus with those freakazoids.  I don’t WANT to live in a world that is an armed camp. That would be a bit much. There are many levels to this argument, and I cannot hit them all right now, my apologies for that.  I will hit this subject with more force at a later date.

_________________________________________________

That’s it for me.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  Forty years ago, when the resolution of enslaving America was formed in Great Britain, the British Parliament was advise by an artful man, who was governor of Pennsylvania, to disarm the people; that it was the best and most effectual was to enslave them; but that they should not do it openly, but weaken them, and let them sink gradually, by totally disusing and neglecting the militia.  George Mason, 1788

The world is filled with violence. Because criminals carry guns, we decent law-abiding citizens should also have guns. Otherwise they will win and the decent people will lose.   James Earl Jones

________________________________________________

If you are reading this or any story on this site, let me know you read it by clicking on the title of the article.  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

