Help Re-Name This Site!


Read the story, then vote in the poll below!

I have been watching and listening to news, sports, business, all sorts of different things for years on end.  And no business, sports franchise, or tv show survives long without someone or something coming along and changing something.  Teams change their uniforms, so as to get new attention (and more money) and hope that change leads to a new direction in the teams fortunes.  The NHL does this annually, and usually a few baseball and football teams do the same thing.  Networks do it.  They alter the name of their network, Sci-Fi becoming SyFy comes to mind, or  altering their logo, MTV losing the words “Music Television” from their logo being a recent example.

Other examples include Blackwater becoming Xe, in order to “Re-brand“, or Comcast re-branding as Xfinity, or Conservatism re-branding as “Tea Party Patriots”. 

Last week The Rachel Maddow show had a contest to rename the “Filibuster”  She got THOUSANDS of suggestions.  I put a few in myself,  “Senatorial Death Punch” was one of them, it got a few votes.  The winner was “The Tarantino”, and much as I like my suggestion, the Tarantino IS pretty damn good, because “IT KILLS BILLS”  Funny, witty, good stuff.  Ezra Klein of the Washington Post, inspired by Ms. Maddow, is trying the Re-naming game, only this time trying to get people to suggest a new name for the “Budget Reconciliation Process

I’m not doing that one, but for a very good reason.  In order to comment, and leave a suggestion, you have to sign up for the Washington post.  I remember signing up for it a while ago.  I don’t remember the password, and don’t want TWO Washington post accounts. If I do find it, or remember it, I’ll sign on and do it, but there will be no second account with my name on it.

I say all that to say this.  I am feeling like there is some kind of a change necessary here, and I think some “Re-branding” here sounds like a helluva plan.  Also I have to tell you that I have been inspired by Ms. Maddow, just as much as Mr. Klein was.  So now is the time where YOU come into the picture.  I have a few suggestions, but you need not go with any of them.  If you have a better idea than anything in the poll, drop me a comment and let me know!

_____________________________________________________

That’s about it for me.  Enjoy!

Today’s Nuggets, via wikiquote:  The sponsor may be viewed as a potentate with a strong influence over currents of thought in our society, exercised mainly through television […] It has tended to displace or overwhelm other influences such as newspapers, school, church, grandpa, grandma. It has become the definer and transmitter of society’s values.  Eric Barnouw

It is wrong to think that belief in freedom always leads to victory; we must always be prepared for it to lead to defeat. If we choose freedom, then we must be prepared to perish along with it.  Karl Popper

4 thoughts on “Help Re-Name This Site!

  1. Pingback: Blackwater Watch » Blog Archive » Help Re-Name This Site! « Mike The Rhino

  2. i like the original title of your blog although a change would certainly be welcome. Is there any chance avid readers of your blog, like me, would be able to get a glimpse of our favorite blogger?
    “Intellectual Runner” is another befitting name for this site.
    Good day to you!

  3. I think somewhere around this apartment is a picture or two of me running. I’ll post them at some point, if you wish. I do have a one pic of me up here on the site, in Yankee regalia, on my November 6th post. The title on that one is “Anagram: One Million Strong/No Selling To Minor”

    Intellectual Runner….Hmmmm… I’ll give it a thought, and Good day to you as well!

  4. Pingback: James And The Giant Snafu « Mike The Rhino

Leave a Reply

