Great Hockey and Lies


I thought I would be leading off today’s blog with The great Olympic hockey win by the American men against Canada today.  It was a GREAT game, but I’m not leading off with that.  I thought my second story would be me getting news about a temp agency looking for people that contacted me to see if I am available. But that ceases to even be anything more than a blurb here in the first paragraph, great news though it is.  Found a story that irks me, really gets under my skin.  

This is what Rick Berman advocates for

 

Rick Berman, Corporate America’s lead attack dog when they don’t want to get their hands dirty has a new enemy in his sights.  The humane society.  You read that right.  The people who do their utmost to protect animals and stop animal abuse, close puppy mills and stop dogfighting, and work with corporations to help them create animal friendly policies are under attack by Rick Berman and the Center for Consumer Freedom.   

The site he is running to attack the Humane society, humanewatch.org, looks legitimate,  like they are really trying to do some kind of good, but there is a clear bias at his attack site. Lead story is a non story by the New York Post, a paper I would not wipe my ass with, basically shilling for Berman’s new website, and it is nothing more than a sales pitch for hating the humane society.  They follow that up with a poll, then a story about another shill, this one a guy named Trent Loos, shilling for Berman.  The next one links to David Martosko’s page, townhall.org, which opens up with ads for Glenn Beck and Sarah Palin’s books, and then goes on to hype the page that you just left, and tell lies about the humane society.  

Bunch of crap.  All filler, no story.  Because they really don’t have much to attack.  They try to make it sound like the humane society doesn’t help animals by saying that they don’t run animal shelters.  They run 5 animal care centers, permanently housing over 1,500 animals and treating 14,000 animals annually.  Not bad for a company that doesn’t actually have a shelter to it’s name.   

What else does the Humane society do? They lobby congress, they go to businesses and speak to the people who run them to run more animal friendly businesses.  They bust cock fighting and dog fighting rings, they close puppy mills, and fight factory farming because it is cruel to animals.  You don’t exactly need shelters for that.  

So if in the next few days you see ads for Humanewatch.org, or hear the name David Martosko or Rick Berman, questioning the Humane society and their business practices, you know what you are dealing with.  Humanewatch.org, by dint of fighting the Humane Society, are pro puppy mill, pro dogfighting, and against proper treatment of animals.  

_____________________________________________________________________  

And now for something completely different…  

That game between the United States and Canada was GREAT!  I have been watching hockey for most of my life.  I am a 42 year New York Ranger fan old and I remember Vic Hadfield and Brad Park playing for us back in the early 70’s, so I go back a few years, and I tell you this was one of the most exciting hockey games I have seen in all that time.   

There was this sequence, that took 30 seconds, 45 seconds at the most where there were three breakaway shots on goal, twice on Canada and once on Team USA.  It was INSANE.  If you have the game dvr’d, just play and replay the bit over and over again.  It’s that good.  Ex New Jersey Devil Brain Rafalski showed he watched and learned all of team Canada goalie Martin Brodeur’s weaknesses and burned him for 2 goals, and would have had 3 but the third went off of Jamie Langenbrunner’s skate and he was given the assist instead.  Even Chris Drury, the New York Rangers captain put one past Marty. Ryan Kessler busted his ass to get to a puck to ice the game with an empty net goal with 44.7 left in the game, and then was tackled in a celebratory manner. You don’t see too many tackles in hockey.  Twas fun stuff!  

Team USA goalie Ryan Miller faced a hellacious barrage as Canada mounted a furious attempt at a comeback where the Americans simply could not get the puck out of Canada’s offensive zone for the better part of 2 minutes with about 3 minutes left in the game, and absolutely stood on his head the whole game as he stopped 42 of 45 shots, and those three goals were no cheapies.   

This was, simply put, a MAJOR upset.  This team of Americans, while all NHLer’s were looked upon as being a lesser team prior to this game.  Now Team USA gets a bye in the quarterfinal by beating the Canadian juggernaut.  Kudos to USA Head Coach Ron Wilson for putting the right game plan together to beat this clearly top notch Canadian team!  Nice!  

________________________________________________________________  

That’s it for me. Later!  

Today’s nuggets, Via wikiquote:  We have enslaved the rest of the animal creation, and have treated our distant cousins in fur and feathers so badly that beyond doubt, if they were able to formulate a religion, they would depict the Devil in human form.  William Ralph Inge  

Hypocrisy is the necessary burden of villainy; affectation, part of the chosen trappings of folly! the one completes a villain, the other only finishes a fop. Contempt is the proper punishment of affectation, and detestation the just consequence of hypocrisy.  Samuel Johnson  

I was never concerned with statistics – scoring goals, my records. The only thing I was concerned about was winning. The association changed my life. It changed my career and it changed my stats. I went to Chicago for three years but I was never a Blackhawk. I was treated well by the fans and by management, but I only had mediocre years. I still had a Red Wing on my forehead, on my backside and over my heart. I was existing, nothing more. Then, I retired for four years.   Ted Lindsay

Leave a Reply

