I’ve Been…


     I have been somewhat inactive on the writing front the last few days.  I’ve been somewhat busy living my life, just hanging out with my wife, doing ordinary house husband stuff around the house the last few days.    No worries really though.  I’ve applied for a dozen jobs over the last few days, paid a bill or two, done food shopping, dealt with 17 inches of snow the smart way, by staying the hell away from it, to the point of not running the last few days, even though if i really wanted to I could have.

    I’ve been a little annoyed over the lack of response from people over at legal services NYC, who i presumed would be of some help in helping me declare bankruptcy .  I called them over a month ago, got no response, for a long time, called them again last week, STILL haven’t heard from them.  I am annoyed at the complete lack of response from these people.  I only just found a free alternative to them today, a very little while ago, so I’ll be hitting that soon.  Seeing how they are lawyers though, they won’t be open until Monday.  I guess if you can’t move fast, you move slow. 

   I’ve been watching the news a fair bit, as is my wont.  I’ve watched with trepidation as the market has gotten more volatile, and has started to dive a bit.  I’ve watched with ambivalence as the last of the Kennedy’s leaves the house of representatives.  I don’t even know why, I like Patrick Kennedy, but his retirement honestly just doesn’t move me.  I giggled when the climate change deniers said Global warming doesn’t exist (or some such) because we got snow in winter.  I watched with pride as the Space Shuttle finally got back into space.  I watched as a Luger at the Olympics died, took a turn too tight, came out of it too high and fast, came off of his luge and the track, and slammed into an uncovered steel pylon with the back of his head and neck at 90 mph.  I heard of shooters at a college in Alabama killed 3 people.  Death always gets top billing, doesn’t it?

     Dammit.

    I lost connection to teh intarwebs for the first time in a long time.  But the people at time warner cable were much better than the people at Verizon people ever were whenever I had problems with them when I still had DSL.  

  … I’ve been better, I’ve been worse.  No worries.

_________________________________________________________

   Nothing more from here. Go to sleep.

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  It is one of the strange ironies of this strange life — those who work the hardest, who subject themselves to the strictest discipline, who give up certain pleasurable things in order to achieve a goal, are the happiest people.  Brutus Hamilton

Always acknowledge a fault frankly. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you opportunity to commit more.   Mark Twain

One thought on “I’ve Been…

  1. No family in American history – not the Roosevelt, not the Adams, and certainly not the Bush families – have paid a higher price in the service of the people than the Kennedys. And to be perfectly honest with you, I’m sick and tired of listening to them get kicked around by the clueless right wing.

    It was announced yesterday that Ben Quayle, son of the former vice-president, will be running for congress. We here, at this glorious moment in the history of our great nation, are proud and privileged to bear witness to the birth of the Quayle family political dynasty.

    I need a drink.

    http://www.tomdegan.blogspot.com

    Tom Degan
    Goshen, NY

Leave a Reply

