Slightly Off Color


       My stuff first, sports after.

     A happy viddy from Ray Maxwell w/ Leo Laporte.  There is a reason I am leading off with this viddy.  My monitor, it fails.  I had some kind of malfunction at around noon on Super Bowl Sunday.  The power went on my phone, my cable, lost my Internet.  Don’t know what happened, whether a power surge or spike (there is a difference between the two BTW), or Roddy the disaster cat got back behind my computer and did something to the cables back there, or whatever, crashed all of it.  When I turned everything back on, The color on my monitor crapped out.  Red is black, there is a light blue tint to my screen.

    I’ve tried everything I know to fix it.  My wife, who is significantly smarter about this stuff than I am, has tried everything she knows, to fix it.  If you have any ideas, by all means, drop me a line and lend me a hand.

     The curious thing about this though, is that if I put the screen in digital mode, I think I’d need extra wires to actually run it digital, I’m not sure, it is perfectly OK.  I’ve tried downloading new drivers for my GeForce Nvidia 6150le.  Nuttin.  No luck at all.  I’ll put it too you like this. The viddy above, on my monitor, Leo and Ray look…vaguely jaundiced, or more accurately like a crappy colorized B&W movie.

     BTW, If your science chops aren’t up to snuff with Doc Maxwell, keep moving, you’ll get lost, fast.

_________________________________________________________________

      Onto sports.  Congratulations to The New Orleans Saints!    WHO DAT GONNA BEAT DEM SAINTS!  Not the Colts apparently.  The Saints played one helluva game, what I saw of it.  I have to be honest, I missed a bit of it, despite the fact that there really wasn’t much going on.  I watched early, and saw the Saints struggle a bit, and to be honest I thought the Colts would just roll at that point.  I didn’t really change my mind about that when the Saints got those two FG’s and made it a 4 point game going into the half.  I saw the brilliant play call, the onside kick, and felt a momentum change. 

     Honestly it was at about point that things pulled my attention away from the TV.  I didn’t really catch all that much of the game from that point.  I missed the Shockey TD, but I did see the Tracy Porter INT.  That was a great adjustment by Porter to come to the ball and beat Reggie Wayne to the ball. 

     BTW, I nailed the Saints point total!  I…kinda goofed on the Colts points though.  I had the Colts scoring 25 points more than they scored.  Oopses!  But like I said, My head said pick the Colts, but I wanted to see the Saints win.  Gotta feel good for the long suffering New Orleans Saints fans.

    Now if only the Cubs could get themselves a world series championship… well, let’s not go that far.  THAT’S asking a bit much.

_________________________________________________________________

     A second Viddy from Doc Maxwell, then I am done.  This is actually the episode prior to the one I put at the top of this post.  If you are a big science fan, you can watch this show live 5:00pm on Thursdays on TWIT live. 

__________________________________________________________________

    Later!

Today’s nuggets, by Richard Dawkins, via wikiquote:  Never say, and never take seriously anyone who says, “I cannot believe that so-and-so could have evolved by gradual selection”. I have dubbed this kind of fallacy “the Argument from Personal Incredulity”. Time and again, it has proven the prelude to an intellectual banana-skin experience.

We are all atheists about most of the gods that societies have ever believed in. Some of us just go one god further.

The meme for blind faith secures its own perpetuation by the simple unconscious expedient of discouraging rational inquiry.

Leave a Reply

