Plato By Dim Light


      It is quarter to 2 in the morning.  The room I sit in is in near total darkness, as is my wont this time of night.  I have a string of Christmas lights on, but they add little light.  I like that, and that is why they are still up.  I should have taken them down a while ago, but simply chose not to.  Again merely personal choice.

    While I sit here writing in the glow of those Christmas lights (and the computer screen) I sit here listening to an audio book recorded last year, a book that was first written over 2000 years ago.  Plato, The Republic.  So as I write in the dark, I illuminate my mind.  I prefer darkness in some ways, but light in others. 

   The book talks much of justice, and the arguments given in the portion of the Republic I am at this point very early on, Part 2 of book one, are still setting up exactly what justice is, and they are shooting down certain laughable concepts of the term. Tis basic stuff, and most of you have already read this and know the silliness that goes on about justice early on.   When I was a teenager I thought the arguments both a bit stiff and stupid, seeing how each and every argument seemed to be one thrasymachus or some such making incredibly dense blanket statements and then having holes shot in them by Socrates.

    Arguments made here are arguments trying to create a perfect world to prove a point about the good moral life being the greatest reward.  The prefect world cannot exist, for there are no perfect men, but he is right about the moral life.  This book  shows the struggle of a mind trying to comprehend the creation of just such a world.  The words brilliantly futile come to mind, but I digress….

   Perhaps more on this book later.  It is getting late and I am tired.  There is darkness and there is light. They both surround me, now as always. 

    You will excuse me, Glaucon awaits. For a little while longer this night anyway.

   Sorry about the viddy, it goes blank at the 7:02 mark. 

    An FYI, this show, great books, when it was on TV, was one of my favorites, and whenever it was on, I made a point of making sure I watched it.  If you are a fan of classic literature, this stuff is MUST watch material.

__________________________________________________________

    It is now after 2:30 in the morning, and I am, after turning it off for a few minutes to listen to the viddies, back listen to the Republic.  And on that note, I am going to call it a night.  Next post I’ll do my Superbowl picks.  From Plato to smash-mouth defense and aerial assault.  There’s a 180 for ya!     🙂

Later!

Today’s nuggets, from Plato’s “Republic”, via Wikiquote:  Truth should be highly valued; if, as we were saying, a lie is useless to the gods, and useful only as a medicine to men, then the use of such medicines should be restricted to physicians; private individuals have no business with them.

Mankind censure injustice fearing that they may be the victims of it, and not because they shrink from committing it.

Wealth is the parent of luxury and indolence, and poverty of meanness and viciousness, and both of discontent.

Leave a Reply

