January’s Running Commentary


     Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is January’s running Commentary.  Enjoy!

________________________________________________________________

Fri., January 1st:  No Run.  Took off to relax and enjoy myself with my wife.  Run tomorrow.

Sat., January 2nd:  Ran 5.5 miles in 45:22.88, an 8:15.07 m/m pace.  23 degrees, cloudy, flurries, blustery.  2 stops.  I ran a new route to the park today, to get some extra hill running in.  Ran Victory boulevard from Hodges to the park entrance, near Labau ave. A run that is .85 miles long each way… The wind kicked my ass out there and was the reason I stopped at around the 3 mile marker.  The other happened  because I tweaked my right hammy out there. I stopped to stretch it for a few seconds, call it 30, and started back up. 

Sun., January 3rd:  No Run.  Right hammy still sore, and my back is sore to boot…and those are my ”excuses” for not running.   In reality, I’m not running today because I stepped outside, got hit with the wind, felt the cold and went “Brrrrrr….nope, not doing it.” grabbed my garbage can, which was rolling down the street, put it back where it belonged and went back inside.   So much for Mr. “Cold weather runner”, at least for today.  To be honest with myself, I’m just playing hooky today, even though the back and hammy really are sore.

Thur., January 7th:  Ran 3.92 miles in 33:54.58, an 8:39.02 m/m pace.  36 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  First run in a while, took it slow.  This run was a tale of two runs, one slow the other slower.  The first half of this run, a new route, an out and back that is 1.96 miles long with hills, I ran in 16:45.33, just short of 8:33 m/m pace, the second half I ran 24 seconds slower.  There are a few reasons the second half was slower.  I had:  a cramp in my right hamstring, a stitch, and soreness.  I’m carrying a few too many pounds as well, been eating too much of late, that didn’t help.  I’m just happy that I could run today.

Fri., January 8th:  Ran 3.8 miles in 32:43:22, an 8:36.63 m/m pace.  29 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Short run because I didn’t want to overstress the sore right hamstring, slow because I am out of shape and carrying extra weight.  No stops at least.  I didn’t push hard at all,  just running today was something of a challenge.  Happy quiet run, almost no one around.  No other runners, 3 dog walkers and that was it.  That’s part of why I like winter running, I get the paths more or less to myself.

Sat., January 9th:  Ran 3.3 miles in 27:21.29, an 8:17.36 m/m pace.  26 degrees, sunny, windy. Didn’t push today, didn’t want to.  I was thinking of going longer, but decided against, I just didn’t have the wind for it.  I was huffin and puffin out there in this today.  Actually had to stop for a few seconds about 4/10 of a mile away from home.  That annoyed me to no end.  My right leg is not 100%, not sure where the exact problem is, but it got weak momentarily out on the path today, and now my right calf is sore, where yesterday and the day before I had a problem with my right hammy.  The new shoes are the cause of this perhaps? Unknown.  Time will tell.    

   January week 1 Mileage (including the 2nd):  16.52 miles  Monthly total: Same.  Longest: 5.5 miles on the 2nd.  Shortest: 3.3 Miles on the 9th.

Sun., January 10th:  Ran 3.3 miles in 27:52.02, an 8: 26.67 m/m pace.  13 degrees, sunny, windy.  With wind chill, the Temp is 0 degrees.  Nice! I had fun out there today.   I didn’t have to stop, my right leg is not 100% but better than yesterday, and the cold actually felt good out there.  I ran in the old running shoes today, just to do it (kinda).   I didn’t push hard in this weather, obviously.  No need to, just being out in this weather is pushing enough.  My bottom lip went numb from the cold!  That’s cold, Baybee! 

Mon., January 11th:  Ran 4.82 miles in 40:05.04, an 8:18.97 m/m pace.  28 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy.  Hill run, same one I did on January 7th, with an additional 9/10 mile added on the end.   The hills beat my ass today.  Stopped once at what was going to be the ½ way point in the out and back, that first half was hard, I actually ran the uphill faster than the downhill.  I stopped again on the second O&B, to talk to someone I hadn’t seen in a dogs age.  Talk made difficult by not being able to talk well because my bottom lip was frozen and because I was completely out of breath.  Added the extra 9/10 of a mile to make up for the time I spent stopped.  Good run. 

Tue., January 12th:  Ran 3.89 miles in 33:08.80, an 8:31.25 m/m pace.  27 degrees, cloudy, windy.  I actually ran at night, something I rarely do.  It makes for…interesting running.  Dealing with traffic is a headache with the limited light, but I know the route well enough so there were no major issues. Crossing Martling Ave. was interesting, both times, on clove and manor.  Hill running today as well. The hills were fun. The uphill on manor road kicked my ass in the wind today.  The wind….The wind was in my face just about every single step of today’s run.  Still a good run.

Wed., January 13th:  Ran 5.32 miles in 44:14.62, an 8:18.98 m/m pace.  33 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy.  One stop at the 4.4 mile mark.  The hills were alive with the sound of me running today.  I busted my ass on those hills today, felt good to do it.  An old injury seems to be creeping up again, weakness in my right anterior compartment.  It is an issue for me when it is weak enough where it affects my stride.  Maybe It’s a combination of new sneakers, blasting the hills(5 of the last 7 run days have been hill runs, much more than usual), carrying too much weight, and just being a hair out of shape.   One day off will hopefully cure what ails me.   

Fri., January 15th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 46:27.33, an 8:09.00 m/m pace.  46 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy.  The day off and the warmer weather helped make this a relatively easy run.  I probably could have gone longer today, but resisted the urge to do so.  The weak A.C. seems better after a day off.  No hills for the first time in a several runs probably helped as well.  Surprisingly, I was running about the same pace I ran Wednesday the first 2 laps in the park, and hit the afterburners on that 3rd and final lap, which I ran in a 7:53 m/m pace after two laps worth of 8:17 pace.  Nice.

Sat., January 16th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 43:00.57, an 8:16.26 m/m pace.  38 degrees, sunny, windy.  Hammies were a bit sore heading out the door, and I felt the a slight comeback of the weakness in the anterior compartment again, but neither was major enough for me to want to or have to stop.  I didn’t push for speed either, but nonstop here was good.  Maybe a long soak tonight in cold water & Epsom salts will do the trick.   Many people in the park made for lots of human (and canine) obstacles to run around, but that’s to be expected when it gets nicer weather wise.

   January week 2 mileage:  28.23 miles.  Monthly total  44.75   Longest this month:  5.7 miles  Shortest 3.3   10 runs this month, average length of  run:  4.47 miles

Sun., January 17th:  Ran 4.48 miles in 37:02.99, an 8:16.20 m/m pace.  39 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Today’s pace was almost exactly the same as yesterday’s, except today’s run was much harder, today’s run was all hills. Royal oak road to Rice to Slosson to Martling, back up to R.O. road via the same route, down Victory to Labau and back up the hill to R.O. road. Had one scheduled stop at the half way point, after one complete circuit, took an unscheduled stop maybe a 90 seconds before the end of the run, I just couldn’t make it.  Pissed me off.  My right leg seems better, not 100% but better.  Nice.

Mon., January 18th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 1:02:23, an 8:12.50 m/m pace.  49 degrees, partly sunny, breezy.  I took my time out there today, most of the run, but I did put in a final hard push on the last…i dunno, call it 2/10Th’s of a mile, maybe 3/10Th’s.  Something like that.  It’s almost 50 degrees out, so I figured I’d go longer, just to do it while conditions were favorable.  A million people in the park made for some hairy near collisions.  Left calf is sore, but the right anterior compartment seems better. 

Tues., January 19th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 58:34:95, an 8:15.06 m/m pace.  46 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  I could feel the humidity in the air, and it looked like it was going to rain when I was out there, but it never did.  Hamstrings were a hair tight as I started running out the door, but that feeling evaporated after a minute.  No great effort, but I didn’t just mail it in either.  It really felt good to put in two 7+ mile runs in consecutive days, and on top of that I didn’t have to stop during either run!  I’ve run in the older sneakers for the last 2 days, I’ll run in the new ones during tomorrows shorter hill running session.   Didn’t feel the anterior compartment at all.  Nice.

Wed., January 20th:  Ran 4.5 miles in 38:07.85, an 8:28.41 m/m pace.  37 degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  Shortened version of the hill run I ran on Tuesday. R.O. Road to Martling ave. and back, three times.  Nice slow even pace to today’s hill run, and happily, no pain and no stops, so even with the semi-slow time, this was definitely one of my better runs in a while.  Windier conditions made the effort seem harder than most of my recent runs. 

Thur., January 21st:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:20:18, an 8:27.15 m/m pace.  38 degrees, partly sunny, breezy.  I ran the first of 5 laps in the park very slow.  1.9 miles in 16:37.  Ran the rest of the miles at around a fairly even 8:23.  I had to stop after that first lap, my left knee and right ankle were sore, and I had a stitch.  Any one of those alone is no big deal, all 3 at once, and I said “f*ck it, lemme take a breather for a sec”.  I was fine after that, even if the left knee kept bothering me.  This is my longest run in around 3 months, and now that I know that I’m in shape to do that again, I’ll be going longer…when I feel the need, or think I can.

Sat., January 23rd:  Ran 4.5 miles in 38:54.35, an 8:38.73 m/m pace.  37 degrees, cloudy, no wind.  Same hill run as Wednesday.  Took my time today, partially because I didn’t want to push today, but also because I was running in the dark.  I felt pretty good out there, like I could have gone longer today out there.  I was kinda beat at the top of the hill the first time I hit the crest of the hill, but on the next two passes at the top, I was fine.  No stops, no pain, no worries. 

   January week 3 mileage:  37.68 miles  Monthly total: 82.43 miles  Longest this month:  9.5 miles(21st)  Shortest 3.3(9th &10th)   16 runs this month, average length of run:  5.15 miles

Sun., January 24th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:33:00, an 8:31.92 m/m pace.  43 degrees, cloudy, no wind.  It was supposed to be rainy today, or so I thought.  All it was was cloudy with a Lil drizzle during the first 5 minutes.  I’ll take that, as the distance itself made this a hard run.  First time I’ve gone over ten miles since October to my knowledge.  Longest since I started logging my miles here on November of last year.  No issues with my A.C. or my knee, calves are tight now, but that’s not a surprise, with almost 25 miles in my past 3 runs.  Had fun out there.  Good Run.

Mon., January 25th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 42:07.52, an 8:06.06 m/m pace.  56 degrees, partly sunny, breezy.  Missed a great rain run today.  The sun came out by the time I was ready to run at 3:00pm.  The paths were wet and strewn with debris, but it wasn’t too bad, except for that down tree near the entrance to the park.  Speed today was easy after going long and slow yesterday & with the weather as warm as it is today.   I slowed down in spots here, so this wasn’t as fast as I am capable of running.  I know I can do significantly better than 8:06, but I’ll take this for now. Calves are sore, and the hammies are feeling it a bit.  Slow hills tomorrow, methinks.

Tues., January 26th:  Ran 6 miles in 50:42.96, an 8:27.16 m/m pace.  38 degrees, cloudy, windy.   4 x on the run that is the Slosson avenue /Rice avenue /Royal Oak road hill run, have been doing this one 3 x the last few times I’ve done it. .75 miles down, .75 miles up again, and always do the downhill first, so I can finish on the uphill.  I’m a hair tight right now, a wee bit o stretch’ll make everything better.  I felt like I was pushing fast moving up the hill, but you wouldn’t know it from the time. 

Wed., January 27th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 45:21.20, a 7:57.40 m/m pace.  35 cloudy, windy.  Had to make 2 stops.  First one 6 minutes in, piss break.  Second one 3 minutes to go, had a stitch that would not go away, not even after slowing down, putting pressure on the area, and breathing out forcefully with every other step on that side of the body.  Never had a stitch that bad. This is the fastest I’ve run in a long time, though.    Cold and wind weren’t too bad, so I ignored it.  I had pain in my right ankle, but i ignored it.  Old fashioned gut buster today.  Good run.

Sat., January 30th:   Ran 3.3 miles in 27:25.72, an 8:18.70 m/m pace.  16 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  After 2 days off due to being busy, It felt good to be out and about again.  Short because I didn’t want to run long in the cold.  Right leg is sore,  and I felt what may have been my right plantar fascia tighten up on me near the end of the run.  No real issues as far as I can tell though, not yet.  I’ll monitor both and see what’s up.  Won’t stop me from running tomorrow, that’s for sure. 

Sun., January 31st:  Ran 3.3 miles in 26:52.53, an 8:08.64 m/m pace.  15 degrees, sunny, breezy.  A hair colder today than yesterday, and a little more on the windy side, but i was able to move quicker today.  Short for the same reason as yesterday, faster because I could.  The right leg issue from yesterday is gone, no pain in the foot either, that’s nice. 

   January week 4 mileage:  34.4 miles  Monthly total: 116.83 miles  Longest this month:  10.9  miles(24th)  Shortest 3.3(9th, 10th, 30th and 31st)   22 runs this month, average length of run:  5.31 miles

Leave a Reply

