Head To Head


       First up, a speech. 

    Next up, the question and answer session.

    Now for those of you who don’t know, and that would be all of you, I’ve been busy all day and have not yet had a chance to watch all of this, so I’ll be watching this in it’s entirety in a few minutes… I have the speech running in the background as we speak.  I might toss out some commentary tomorrow on this…and I might not.  We’ll see.  What I have heard about this is that the President did really well out there, and the republicans really had problems making their points stick.  I have heard about five or six complete different pieces of commentary, back and forth, and not once did the Republicans make any charges stick.

    What I have seen shows me that the man is very much on the offensive.  If you are a democrat, this is good news. 

     I have seen a funny take on this story, and a serious actual non partisan look at the event.  But there are probably a thousand different stories about it with as many types of spin on it as there could be.   Find them on google news or whatever news site you get your news from.  But do me a favor, check at least one site you normally do not go to.  I am enjoying the MSNBC television coverage, but I am also checking out the CBS blog coverage, Voice of America, and the Baltimore sun’s coverage. 

   I am gonna go give this a listen.    Catch ya later!  Might toss a second post out later tonight.  This was a pretty big news day.

Today’s nuggets, by George Washington, via wikiquote:  When one side only of a story is heard and often repeated, the human mind becomes impressed with it insensibly.

One of the expedients of party to acquire influence, within particular districts, is to misrepresent the opinions and aims of other districts. You cannot shield yourselves too much against the jealousies and heart-burnings, which spring from these misrepresentations; they tend to render alien to each other those, who ought to be bound together by fraternal affection.

It is substantially true, that virtue or morality is a necessary spring of popular government. The rule, indeed, extends with more or less force to every species of free government.

Leave a Reply

