Lazy Bastard


       A relatively short post today.    I am really not feeling like telling the world all that much today… well… I want to say a lot, to be honest, but I’m dragging a bit at this point in the evenings proceedings.  Dragging despite the fact that I didn’t really get all that much done today.  I did laundry!  WOOOOHOOOOO PARTAY!!!… or something.   Looked for a job and put in one resume.  One whole resume! AWESOME…or something, I usually get more in, there just wasn’t much out there. 

     I called a place that called me back, offering a job (thanks to my wife).  That really is nice news, but it’s only $13.50 an hour, but ya know, beggars can’t be choosers, and being a beggar, I’ll take what I can get.  It is Xerox, a place I used to work at. It would be kinda curious to work with people I used to work with years ago again, just for the curiosity factor.  I do have to go through drug screening, and fill out the usual paperwork, just waiting on a second phone call from them, so I know when to go in. 

    I was going to write this long involved treatise on freedom, still gonna do it, just not today.  The reason for it? I was reading the introduction to Democracy In America by the person who wrote the introduction (not De Tocqueville’s intro, obviously,  the one written by the host of the show “The Open Mind”, historian and professor Richard Heffner) writing about freedom and equalitarianism and democracy, and going through simple textbook definitions of the word freedom I found it kind of surprising that there are actually 17 varied accepted meanings of the word.  Included in them are: the power to exercise choice and make decisions without constraint from within or without; the absence of or release from ties, obligations; personal liberty, as opposed to bondage or slavery.

    

     I thought to myself, if the multi-valued nature of the word lends itself so readily to so many different explanations, maybe it would be a good subject to write on and examine in depth exactly what kind of freedom we have in this nation, and the misunderstandings that arises when we think of freedom and democracy as one in the same, when they clearly aren’t the same thing, and the misunderstandings that similarly arise when we think of egalitarianism and freedom as being one, when they also aren’t the same. 

    With maybe the difference between freedom and license.

    I was going to do that one right after I got home from the laundry, but I was tired as hell, having only had 4 hours sleep.  So what happened when I got home is that I turned on the computer, walked into the bedroom…. and fell the hell asleep.  Woke up a few hours later, groggy, had some coffee, puttered around the computer, looked for work, went out running (read the running commentary if you want to see what I did today), worked out a very very little bit (very very very very very little bit, like 15 minutes worth of ultra light work), made dinner w/ me wife, took out the garbage, played some games on pogo…

   Ya know, living the high life.  A look at freedom tomorrow… if I don’t grab a nap and be a lazy shit tomorrow like I was today.

_______________________________________________________

    You will excuse me, I am about to go listen to part 1 and part 2 at the very least of the Areopagitica on Librivox.

Today’s nuggets, by Alexis DeTocquiville, Via wikiquote:  In the United States, the majority undertakes to supply a multitude of ready-made opinions for the use of individuals, who are thus relieved from the necessity of forming opinions of their own.

I know of no country, indeed, where the love of money has taken stronger hold on the affections of men, and where the profounder contempt is expressed for the theory of the permanent equality of property.

I cannot help fearing that men may reach a point where they look on every new theory as a danger, every innovation as a toilsome trouble, every social advance as a first step toward revolution, and that they may absolutely refuse to move at all.

Leave a Reply

