Short View


     The light from the monitor glowing a dullish white while the rest of the room sits in relative darkness, otherwise lit only by the light from the Christmas lights I have yet to take down from my walls.  The rest of the Christians have taken down their lighting at this point, I believe I am the last holdout, or one of the last, one of a very small population who prefer the more subdued lighting afforded by these lights than the harsh glare that the average light bulbs give off. 

    I look to my right and I see a mess of sorts.  Uncharged cell phone sitting next to a box of peanuts and almonds and the like, while a computer speaker, humming a little hum all its own sits on top of a television speaker that sits mute, the television turned off because I don’t want to use the computer and the TV at the same time.  Well there is also the reason that I prefer the sound I get from the computer, which I can turn on and off as I please, where if I watch television I am forced to listen to what some other person at a television station thinks I should listen to.  

    Next to the speakers is a studio quality microphone, that unhappily sits unused, despite being perhaps the best piece of equipment I own.  Not much to record, unfortunately.  I don’t have my election-coverage.com blog anymore, and I got that mic to record my voice, ugly sounding as it is, to record talk about politics in 2008.  Yes I play guitar, and yes I could record  that, but rare it is when I am playing and thinking my playing is good enough to record.  Next to these things I have a few knick knacks, a small box with guitar picks in it, my steel finger-picks, a lamp that is decorative only, and my copy of wealth of nations, still unopened.

   I’m leaning back on my creaky small plastic chair, with my feet up on my desk while I type, staring alternately at the screen, the keyboard i’m typing on, my blackened toes, and the Greenpeace calendar that sits just above my computer screen, with the picture of the humpback whale jumping out of the water on the top half, while the calendar itself is half covered in my handwriting, as I write down each days run times, distance and temperature in the little boxes.

    When I do flip to another tab, I find myself reading and re-reading about one story, one which has caught my eye over recent days. About a thing called ACTA.  Read the story I’m reading here, and two more stories on ACTA here and here. Reading about how our government wants this kept secret, and seems to have been doing a flawless job of it makes me wonder why all this secrecy?  What is in this exactly that the American people, and the rest of the almost free people of the world, aren’t being told? How much more power and control are we handing over to who this time?  This has the same reek that the fisa revision has, and may be worse.   

    But I digress.  I have been reading about more than just ACTA, and doing more than contemplating the table to my right.  Been reading a lot about tomorrow’s senate vote up in Massachusetts.  Which looks like a mess for the Democrats, who look very much like they picked the wrong candidate for Ted Kennedy’s old senate seat.  Martha Coakley looks for all the world to have been beaten, at least according to all the polling data coming out of the state that I’ve seen.  Most of the polls listed on Realclearpolitics.com have Scott Brown beating Martha Coakley by between 5 and 10 points, and even fivethirtyeight.com has this vote as leaning GOP and list him as a 3:1 favorite. 

        Last month this would have been unthinkable, but the progeny of Cheney (I actually heard the man, Scott Brown, called that) seems to be garnering vast support from the independent voters in Massachusetts.  From what I have gathered, 15% of Massachusetts is republican, 35% is democratic, and the rest, 50% is independent, though they normally lean democratic. If he takes a size-able chunk of that Indy vote, and it looks like he will, then we Dems can kiss that 60 vote super majority in the Senate goodbye.

    Now the Democratic majority just have to push through votes with a regular majority rather than use cloture votes to cut off filibustering republicans with a supermajority.  It’s not like nothing will get done because there aren’t enough Dems to push through what they need.  They’ll just have to deal with a lot more republican stonewalling. 

    But with all that said, I’m pulling for Martha Coakley to win this thing, beat Scott Brown and win that senate seat.  But with people listening to ads, when they should be listening to the candidates themselves, and with Martha being almost a no-show in public in Massachusetts, it’s not surprising that ads like the one in the upcoming viddy have given the Brown campaign momentum.

   If you seriously think he doesn’t have lobbyists working with and for him, you’re kidding yourself. 

    On that note I am done.

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  Until philosophers are kings, or the kings and princes of this world have the spirit and power of philosophy, and political greatness and wisdom meet in one, and those commoner natures who pursue either to the exclusion of the other are compelled to stand aside, cities will never have rest from their evils — no, nor the human race, as I believe — and then only will this our State have a possibility of life and behold the light of day.  Plato

I speak an open and disinterested language, dictated by no passion but that of humanity. To me, who have not only refused offers, because I thought them improper, but have declined rewards I might with reputation have accepted, it is no wonder that meanness and imposition appear disgustful. Independence is my happiness, and I view things as they are, without regard to place or person; my country is the world, and my religion is to do good.  Thomas Paine

Editing complete 10:38 pm 01/18/10

Leave a Reply

