The Joy Of Doom


     News Nugget #1:  Haisong Jiang, the man who caused the shutdown at Newark Airport, has been arrested!  The 28 year old man was apparently arrested in house, and is being held at the Port Authority’s administration building at Newark Airport.  He is being charged with Defiant Trespass.  I have no Idea whether this is a felony or a misdemeanor, but what little I have read on the subject leads me to believe this is little more than a slightly stronger form of trespassing.  Probably get out this weekend, and if he pleads guilty end up with time served and maybe a few thousand dollars in fines levied.    Just a guess though, if you know better, by all means, drop me a line and tell me what he could be facing.  I’m interested.

   News Nugget #2: Oh those Kooky Muslims!  In Kuala Lampur, Malaysia, there was a landmark court ruling that allowed, for the first time, Roman Catholics the use of the word “Allah” as a translation for the word “god”.  Pretty open minded of them, I think.   And you know what happened immediately afterward?  Muslims in Malaysia, always ones to share the joy of the world with people of all religions, tolerant people that they are, got together and firebombed three churches!

    Only three churches firebombed…well, the actual number was 5, of the other two, one sustained only minor damage. Minor! HAH!  Such kidders!  Such wonderfully tolerant people!  And Muslim’s the world over wonder why non Muslims think of them as nasty violent evil people.  Go Fig!

   News Nugget #3: Fans of LOST rejoice!  The State of the Union will NOT be held the same night as the Premiere of your much beloved ABC show.  JOY!  Wait… I don’t give a shit about this… why is this even news?  Hold on…oh I see…  The President wanted to push back the State if the Union address into February, and this got a few loyal fans panties all in a bunch, and someone, from ABC as I recall, asked if the SOTU would interfere with the premiere of lost…. And that is how bullshit like this ends up in the news.

    And frankly I hope LOST’s ratings tank.  NO show is that f****** important.  EVER.  Screw LOST. 

_________________________________________________________________      

      Don’t mind me posting slightly later than usual today, or earlier if this thing doesn’t get out till early Saturday morning.  I’ve been running around today a fair bit.  I did a bit of walking around shopping with my wife.  I spent exactly $0, but my wife spent a few bucks, and some on me.  I’m pretty happy about that.  There is stuff that I really needed and she picked it up for me, and got herself a few things as well.  We needed a few things around the house, and like I said I needed some stuff that she got for me, but really this was about the two of us getting out of the house together and doing something. 

     We really haven’t done that all that much of late.  If I go out, it’s going out to the store to get food, which I usually do when she’s sleeping, or going out running, which she doesn’t do.  She doesn’t really get out much, she does a lot of writing, and she does her online sysadmin stuff, she does her own personal writing on top of that.  Most of her life is spent in front of the computer, and of Late I’ve been doing the same thing, looking for work, learning, reading, listening to audio books.

    That bit is actually new to me. I’ve never done the whole audio book thing it until a few days ago, and frankly I’m hooked.  Mind you my reading list is very what you could call dry.  The site I currently use for my audiobooks, librivox.org, is public domain books only,  lots of stuff by Aristotle, Herodotus, Mark Twain, John Locke, Thomas Hobbes, Thomas Paine and the like.  Like I said, by and large dry reading…well, Twain was one helluva funny writer, but ya, mostly pretty dry. 

    I was actually thinking of doing some volunteer stuff for them, read some stuff for them, they allow anyone to do it, all you have to do is register.  Seeing how I have a few spare minutes seeing how I’m still out of work and all, that’s no big deal.   I think I could pull of “The Decameron” or ‘The decline and fall of the Roman Empire” with the spare time I have on my hands.

   But as you can tell from the viddy below, I am, as usual, far behind the times.  I don’t have a problem with that, just saying…

______________________________________________________________

   BTW, the Joy of Doom in the title references something I just found. The game DOOM On-line.  Fun, fun, fun!  Haven’t played this in years! Been having a blast(pun intended) playing through all over again.  I’m sure it’s been there a dogs age, but I don’t care, I can go have fun with my chainsaw and rocket launcher again!  WOOOOOHOOOOOO!

_______________________________________________________________

   That’s it for me.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:  Journalism may not dare too much. It can be gently humorous and ironic, very lightly touched by idiosyncrasy, but it must not repel readers by digging too deeply. This is especially true of its approach to language: the conventions are not questioned.   Anthony Burgess

The doctrine of toleration requires a positive as well as a negative statement. It is not only wrong to burn a man on account of his creed, but it is right to encourage the open avowal and defence of every opinion sincerely maintained. Every man who says frankly and fully what he thinks is so far doing a public service. We should be grateful to him for attacking most unsparingly our most cherished opinions.  Leslie Stephen

Leave a Reply

