The Rhino Relaxes


       I, despite being pretty ill at this point, am actually having a pretty good day. 

    The weather outside is frightful…and I love it.  It’s in the low 30’s right now, there is just a little bit of snow falling, whipped by a light but persistent wind in the direction of what little traffic passes by Das Rhino’s small one bedroom apartment, the snow is covering the vehicles and the grass, but it is just not cold enough for it to stick on the roads . You know what the best part of that weather is? I’m inside that roasty toasty warm apartment watching the snow fall very gently to ground. 

   

_______________________________________________________________________

    Max Baucus recommended to the White House that his girlfriend, Melodee Hanes become a U.S. Attorney.  She turned down the job before they were able to give it to her, so she could get a job elsewhere in Washington in the justice department.  In a move that surprised no one, the RNC has asked, nay, demanded that the Senate Ethics Committee explore Baucus’ inclusion of Hanes among three candidates he recommended to the White House, despite the fact that no laws have been broken. 

   Does it really surprise anyone that a party that would consider purity tests for its own people would demand that someone who has done nothing wrong, either legally or ethically be investigated, because they don’t like it, because it offends their sense of impropriety?  This the party of Larry Craig, of Mark Sanford, of John Ensign?

  I don’t know that max is a good guy.  I can’t say that I side with his seemingly business first, people second approach to health care.  I truly dislike the way he protects the rich as chairman of the Senate committee on Finance, and he has voted FOR the bush tax cuts in 2001, amongst other things.   I am not sure that I like the guy all that much, but c’mon, cut the guy some slack.  This is bullshit what the republicans are trying to pull here.  I can see going after him if he was screwing someone else’s wife and tried to pay the family off to keep things quite like ensign did, but the guy put his girl in a pool of three people for a job and then pulled her name back out.

   The RNC needs to give it a friggin rest, the bunch of gestapo wannabes.

_______________________________________________________________________

      A few hours ago I finished doing a great many quizzes/tests, on a site www.yourmorals.org and frankly, I’ve been having fun doing them, but then again I’m the kind of person who has fun doing quizzes.  I didn’t really learn anything there, I pretty much knew that I’m liberal, but the damned thing told me that I am actually more neurotic than the average test taker, by a fair bit. LOL.  And ya, I know I’m one big emotional roller-coaster(that being what neurotic means), most people are and more than they admit I think, especially the ones who don’t “Like drama”, but the part that surprises me is that my roller coaster is apparently steeper and faster than the average persons.

    Kewl. If life is a ride, the least you can do is have it be an exciting one.  😛

   It should also come as no surprise to all my regular readers (all 3 of you) that, according to these quizzes anyway, I come out less agreeable than your average person, that I am a great believer in social justice, and that don’t believe in fate but do believe in free will, and I couldn’t give a rats ass about flag burning as a political issue, and that I care less for intra-party loyalty than the average liberal.

    Nice.  I’ve done 19 quizzes, I’ve got 19 more to go.  Seeing how the vast majority of them are of a political nature, you can be sure that I’ll be finishing this stuff up tonight.

_______________________________________________________________________

  A pair of happy viddys from George Carlin.  Watch and enjoy.

  You have no rights.

_______________________________________________________________________

That’s it from here.  Later!

Today’s nugget’s, pulled more or less at random from Wikiquote:  When we are debating an issue, loyalty means giving me your honest opinion, whether you think I’ll like it or not. Disagreement, at this stage, stimulates me. But once a decision has been made, the debate ends. From that point on, loyalty means executing the decision as if it were your own.  Colin Powell

That which exercises reason is more excellent than that which does not exercise reason; there is nothing more excellent than the universe, therefore the universe exercises reason.  Cicero

Whenever the true objects of action appear, they are to be heartily sought. Enthusiasm is the height of man; it is the passing from the human to the divine.   Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

