November Running Commentary, Part I


   Once a month or so, I clear out some of the pages and place them here on the blog to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the First of two parts from the page “Running Commentary”, this section having been posted from Nov. 2nd through the 13th.  Enjoy!

   Mon, Nov. 2nd:  5.7 miles in 48:39.68, an 8:32.22 m/m pace.  52 degrees, cloudy, windy.  First run back after over two weeks off due to pain in my right ankle and Achilles tendon.  Pleased that the run was non-stop, usually a first run after injury, there is a need to take breaks, none here. 

   Tue., Nov.3rd:  5.7 miles in 48:11.87, an 8:27.34 m/m pace.  55 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Hammies, quads, and calves all sore from Monday’s run, no pain in injured ankle/Achilles area though.  Soreness was expected, and not a concern.  I had energy at the end of this run, and told myself that tomorrow I either run longer, or faster.

    Wed., Nov.4th:  8.3 miles in 1:10:33, an 8:30.00 m/m pace.  50 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy.  My quads are fried, my calves are sore as hell, and my soleus muscles feel like they’ve just been beaten with a bat, but my hamstrings are actually fine at this point. I’ll stretch when I’m done writing here.  I actually felt a twinge in the injured portion of my right ankle/Achilles, but it went away after a few minutes.  I’m pretty happy about that.

    Thur., Nov. 5th:  7.1 miles in 57:59.13, an 8:10.02 m/m pace.  50 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Feeling much better than the last two runs,  there is soreness, but nothing like yesterdays.  Pushed harder, because I could. My hamstrings were looser, and as a result, i was able to open up my stride and move quicker.  Hips felt looser as well, which is a rare and happy thing, made the run feel easier.  It helped me take 20 seconds per mile off of yesterdays time.  No run tomorrow, I have an appointment at the Canyon Of Heroes at 11:00 am. 

    Sat., Nov 7th:  9 miles in 1:13.42, an 8:11.33 m/m pace.  48 degrees, sunny, windy.  I wasn’t sure I was going to go this long today.  I was kinda tired walking out the door to start up, and both calves and soleus’ were sore, and my hamstrings were tight before I even got out the door.  Loosened up as I warmed up, but I only started to feel right after getting a few miles under my feet, and it was only after about 6 miles that I decided to go add that 2 extra miles. The turnoff for the shorter run would have happened at the 6.4 mile mark. 

    November week 1 mileage 35.8 miles.

    Sun., Nov 8th:  6.9 miles in 55:35.24, an 8:03.37 m/m pace.  50 degrees, sunny and breezy.   Everything from the knees down was sore before I started and is sore now.  Soleus’, calves, gastroc’s, feet, everything, AND my right quad is a mess.  And what happens? I run hills today, AND i run my fastest since I started up a week ago.  Instead of the 1.9 mile park loop (closer to a figure 8 but I won’t quibble over minor details), I ran the 2.3 mile hill loop that incorporates the hills on Victory blvd and Slosson Ave and ½ of the park loop.  Go fig.  Maybe it was the perfect run weather that got me that extra burst of speed.  It is a great day for a run, and that made this a surprisingly good run, given the amount of pain I was in early.  Painkillers now, a calf massage and a cold bath later should fix everything.  No worries. 

    Mon., Nov 9th:  5.2 miles in 41:35.74, a 7:59.94 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy and breezy.  Hot damn I didn’t think I’d get sub 8(OK , Barely sub 8, but it’s still sub 8 today, or in fact, anytime soon.  I was feeling less than 100% heading out, with both of my soleus muscles feeling like crap and my calves in need of a healthy massage and some painkillers.  They got 5 miles of me pushing instead, and they responded well.  I actually feel better now than I did before i went running.  Nice!

    Tues., Nov 10th:  9.5 miles in 1:17:21, an 8:08.52 m/m pace.  63 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Extraordinarily happy with today’s run.  I could have gone longer than this, I actually had something in the tank after this one.  Nice. I did have some soreness early and I did have some pain in my right soleus, but it wasn’t anything major.   I was motoring at the end of the run, much faster than the 8:08 I ran.  Double nice.

    Wed., Nov 11th: 5.2 miles in 41:38.92, an 8:00.56 m/m pace.    51 degrees, cloudy, no wind.  Left soleus, left hammy and right ankle were all sore today.  Made what should have been a relatively easy run something of a pain in the ass.  The time was pretty good, but it would have been better had I been able to concentrate more on running and less on my aching f****** fibula and whatnot.  Still a damn good run.  No run tomorrow, I think.  We’ll see how I’m feeling.

    Fri., Nov 13th:  No run.  After taking yesterday off because I needed one, it seems I am going to get some unwanted time off as well.  Something seems to be wrong with my left foot.  It began yesterday.  I was fine all day, went shopping, did all the stuff I had to do, walked around, whatever. After taking a shower though, I sat down to put socks on, got up, and suddenly couldn’t put any weight on my foot and there’s a small lump on top of it.  Out of the blue this comes, I was sitting when this happened, didn’t hit anything, didn’t twist it or hear or feel anything go. It came out of nowhere.  It had me hobbling along on a cane.  I figure I just tweaked a tendon, I’ve done it before. Last time anything like this happened, I went to sleep that night and next morning woke up 100%.  Not this time though.  Will resume running after I can walk without a cane and/or leaning on a wall or a doorknob to get around the house. 

    Dammit.  Knowing me, it’s probably gout or something stupid like that, too much meat or sugar or some such bullsh*t.

   November week 2 mileage: 26.8 miles  November mileage so far: 62.6 miles

Leave a Reply

