Coffee Fixes Everything


      I feel cold.  Despite the heat being on, and all the drafts being cut off, I feel cold.  It’s not just lack of warmth, it’s the feeling that the cold is in my bones, more than just surface cold.  I almost never feel cold, the wife says it about me all the time, I’m the only man who could break a sweat in a blizzard, cold just never affects me, ever.  I pride myself on being able to handle cold, I’ve run in winter for years, I’ve regularly run in 10 – 15 degree temps with wind chills in the -10’s and run for distance.  You know you’re working hard when you really ARE busting a sweat in that.  But I feel cold.  It’s gotta be near 70 degrees, I’m wearing a hat and a heavy sweat shirt, but I feel cold.

    Hell, maybe i’m just getting old, and frankly I can handle that.  Nothing wrong with getting old, the only ones who stay young are the ones who die young, and I’m happy to have just lived as long as I have, I’ll handle a little cold.  Beats hell out of the alternative. 

     Sounds to me like it’s time for coffee.  Coffee fixes everything

________________________________________________________________

     Flitting around the web, just looking stuff up at random and ran across this line. 

    If you have two guys on a stage and one guy says, ‘I have a solution to the Middle East problem,’ and the other guy falls in the orchestra pit, who do you think is going to be on the evening news?

     Sounds stupid on it’s face, but then again, with people being how they are, the man may have a point.   But it isn’t a good point, and it points to the shallowness of the people spoken about, and the callousness of the man making the point.   Shallow? damn right.  Shouldn’t we be more interested in middle east peace that watching someone fall down? Yes!  Are we? NNNNnnnnnnooooooooot really.  But watching other people fall is entertaining, and if we the people are suckers for anything it is light entertainment, especially the type where ….how to put this… you know you’ve run into it when someone you know says something like “check this shit out” “watch this idiot” or “Man, did you see (insert lame show title here), there was this crazy….” or some such.   Reality television’s high ratings (and the relatively low ratings of c-span, due to having actual intelligent content and no Simon Cowell or island to get booted off of) one presumes are based in part on this principle.

    There is something wrong with that, but that’s just the way the world is I guess, just wrong.  Oh, the guy who spoke that line above? 

     Roger Ailes. 

    And I never knew he was president of CNBC, and that he became president of a new cable network at NBC, called America’s talking.  A network that was soon enough replaced by…

    MSNBC.   Never thought I’d be able to draw a direct line from Ailes to MSNBC without battle lines between them.  Six degrees of separation comes to mind here.

________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________

   That’s it for me.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, Via wikiquote:  Life is just one cup of coffee after another, and don’t look for anything else.  Bertrand Russell

Fear? What has a man to do with fear? Chance rules our lives, and the future is all unknown. Best live as we may, from day to day.  Sophocles

Can a man who’s warm understand one who’s freezing?  Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

In our last conflict four of his five wits went halting off, and now is the whole man governed with one: so that if he have wit enough to keep himself warm, let him bear it for a difference between himself and his horse; for it is all the wealth that he hath left, to be known a reasonable creature.   Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing, scene i.

Leave a Reply

