Irregular blog movement


       Just personal crap here, keep moving , unless odd random thoughts interest you.Viddy here doesn’t fit the blog, but I don’t mind, and if you’ve kept reading, apparently neither do you.  Enjoy. Austan Goolsbee talking about the stimulus plan a few weeks back.

    Rituals make up much of life.  Most people have a morning routine, where you do everything in a proscribed order, whether it’s grumble after just barely gettin yer ass out of bed, then gulping down a hot cup of coffee and scramble out the door to meet the morning rush, or greet the dawn with a smile, go do a few miles, take a shower have that extra donut with yer coffee, then out to join the madding crowd.  You have the shows you have to watch, every week, or day, same time every week (or day).  You know others have much the same thing going on because you meet much the same people everyday at around the same time, talk about the same type of things.  Life revolves around ritual, in one form or another.

     Why? It gives you markers to mark the day, the time, a sameness to every day that most people need to feel secure in their everyday lives, I suppose.  I’m wondering how necessary they really are on an individual level.  Is it really necessary to watch that TV show, eat dinner at 7:00, whatever, do most of the things we do on a set schedule.  Some are necessary, but how many really are? Ya, you have to get up at the same time every day to get to the office, or wherever you work.  Sure, you have to get to bed by 11 to make sure you get enough sleep so work isn’t a slough tomorrow. 

     Just thinking about it because I am finding that outside of a few important functions that MUST be done at a very specific time, most things don’t really need to be scheduled out that much.  That’s something of a revelation to me, because for years I have led a highly regimented life.  up at precisely the same time most every day, even days off.  Make sure the run is done by around the same time every day, so I can tick off the next thing on the to-do list.  Get out the door by exactly 7 am on laundry day so I can get their early and be there first.  Most of it is crap, entirely unnecessary. 

      All that said, I still get my keister out of bed early to look for work, still do things in more or less the same order every morning with my morning ritual, and try to make things as regimented as possible, to give the semblance of order and stability in a world that desperately needs it…. 

    And maybe I say that because I don’t have a job to help me regiment things on a daily basis, and that fact is heavily coloring my current mindset.  Because I am unhappy about it, I am questioning why exactly I felt the need to be like that, when I no longer have quite the same impetus to do so. 

     I am just in the mood to question everything, and when I do that I usually start by looking in the mirror and asking myself questions.    

     Maybe I just need a change of direction in my life… or a job.  T’would be nice.  Working on it, get one as soon as I can. 

   ___________________________________________________________________

    That’s it from here. Later.

Today’s nuggets, by Bertrand Russell, via wikiquote:   The habit of looking to the future and thinking that the whole meaning of the present lies in what it will bring forth is a pernicious one. There can be no value in the whole unless there is value in the parts. Life is not to be conceived on the analogy of a melodrama in which the hero and heroine go through incredible misfortunes for which they are compensated by a happy ending. I live and have my day, my son succeeds me and has his day, his son in turn succeeds him. What is there in all this to make a tragedy about?

If all our happiness is bound up entirely in our personal circumstances it is difficult not to demand of life more than it has to give.

Written words differ from spoken words in being material structures. A spoken word is a process in the physical world, having an essential time-order; a written word is a series of pieces of matter, having an essential space-order.

Leave a Reply

