It would be nice if…


       …I could find a job before I go completely broke.460px-palmercarpentera

    Been looking for a while.  I send out e-mails.  I write to companies, I go to agencies.  Nada.  Can’t seem to catch a break.  I am probably going to have to declare bankruptcy soon.  Gonna wait a few more weeks before I make that decision.  It’s not that I am unwilling to declare bankruptcy because there is some stigma attached to it.  I just want to give it a few more weeks,  just to see if my bad luck breaks.  It can’t last forever. 

    Rains eventually give way to sun.  Darkness gives way to light.  The bad days cannot last forever, the sun will shine again, and it will shine sooner than later.  I just need to seek it out.  If i go to a negative balance on my bank account and have creditors beating down my door, i will feel the same way.  Concerned? Yer damn right, but I won’t lose my positive viewpoint, it is about all I have.  That and the love of my wife, a woman who has even more faith in me than I do.

    That does make it a bit easier to deal with.  Life is, like me, and most everyone else, far from perfect.  I won’t let that stop me from getting what I need to keep a roof over my head, heat and power on, and food to keep us strong.

   __________________________________________________________________

    It would be nice if Rudy Giuliani would just shut up.  I heard him, not once, but twice talk this morning about Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, with both Stephenopolous and Fox news Sunday.  He said that it was a mistake to try him here in New York.  He said that it shows an over concern with the rights of terrorists.  He said having the trials here showed a lack of concern for the rights of the public. He says that granting a trial here in New York is granting the wishes of the mastermind of 9/11.  He called him a soldier and said he should face a military tribunal.

    Rudy is missing the point, and it really is a simple one.  WE WANT JUSTICE.  A military tribunal for a man who is part of an extra-national terrorist organization would lend strength to all the bad guys. If we do an end around on the justice system to get this guy, then he’s won.  He got us to circumvent our own normal legal procedures to fight him.   There is some legal precedent against trying people in similar circumstances in military tribunals.  You are a former prosecutor, Rudy, maybe you know the history of this.  There have been a great many military tribunals in this 467px-Rudy_Giulianination.  A few have even tried civilians.  Several times in fact, and in war, with an enemy on our land, the U.S. Supreme court found those military tribunals UNCONSTITUTIONAL.  We are a nation of Laws, Mr. Giuliani, and there are two very important Supreme court precedents that is important here.

     Ex Parte Milligan is one, and let me put in blockquotes, a piece of an article in wikipedia which is the main point of my argument here. 
   

Trying citizens in military courts is unconstitutional when civilian courts are still operating. Trial by military tribunal is only constitutional when there is no power left but the military, and the military may only validly try criminals as long as is absolutely necessary.

     Yes, I get that the bastard isn’t a citizen, but that point is covered by the second Scotus precedent, Hamdan V Rumsfeld decision which stated  that a “Military commission to try Plaintiff is illegal and lacking the protections required under the Geneva Conventions and United States Uniform Code of Military Justice.”  It would do critics of the decision to try KSM here well to read up on this case.

    Rudy, how exactly is it showing a lack of concern for the rights of the public by holding a trial in New York, when that crime was committed in New York?  I think it makes sense to say that it would show a lack of concern if we didn’t hold the trial here.  Why? Because crime victims have rights.  Those rights include knowing what is going to happen to the person accused of the crime committed against them or their kin.  You would take that away from the families of the victims of 9/11 by throwing the veil of a military tribunal over this case.

   And that isn’t an “over concern” for the rights of terrorists, it shows an over concern for the rights of hard working, red-blooded American citizens.  And as for the statement in the video he makes about some being tried before military tribunals?  That would be, as I recall, because those people are actual enemy combatants,actual Taliban fighters.  These individuals were in armies we are at war with, and as a consequence, they get tried in front of a military tribunal.  

   It doesn’t matter either way.  KSM is dead meat on a stick regardless of where he is tried. Let “WE THE PEOPLE” who were attacked that fateful day, have our day of justice in a court of law. And if you REALLY don’t want Mohammed tried here, you need to change the constitution so that it is proper and constitutional to try him in a military tribunal. 

    ________________________________________________________________________ 

     That’s about it from me for tonight.  Later!

Today’s Nuggets via wikiquote:  Lose this day loitering, ‘Twill be the same story Tomorrow — and the next more dilatory. Then indecision brings its own delays, and days are lost lamenting overdays! Are you ernest? Seize this very minute! What you can do, or dream you can — begin it! Courage has genius, power and magic in it. Only engage, and the mind grows heated. Begin it, and the work will be completed.  Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

For those who need consolation no means of consolation is so effective as the assertion that in their case no consolation is possible: it implies so great a degree of distinction that they at once hold up their heads again.  Friedrich Nietzsche

Latest edit 1:55am edt 11/16/09

One thought on “It would be nice if…

  1. I had several minor issues with the writing of this piece. It took a while to iron out the precise wording here, but after perhaps a dozen edits and tweaks, I finally got it right.

Leave a Reply

