Anagram: The Party Starter/ Three Ratty Traps


      Good lord and butter, sometimes i get myself in deep.  Seems that my family Christmas party, an institution in my family, is in serious trouble.  The hall where the party normally is held has raised their rates, making it impossible for the member chosen this year to run the party to pay for it. It was announced to family members on facebook, and all hell has broken loose. Aunts and relatives were saying it is a sad day, that the family christmas-sceneparty is being abandoned, why the hell are people being so damned cheap… 

     HERE I COME TO SAVE THE DAY….or something.  I wasn’t necessarily picked to do the job of running the party in lieu of the original family member who cannot afford to do this, it was suggested by one cousin that I do it, and I was already looking into it, so it just fell in my lap, more or less. 

     Kewl.

        I am in the process of, at this late date with the party’s original date around a month away, trying to secure a venue.  I am working on finding the best deal, getting something  worked out as far as food for it, either catered or lots of cooking by family.  I have contacted one venue in particular, and I am using an online service to help me find a spot just in case the first venue falls through.  I have not asked that the online search use catering as a criterion, but the first place I contacted I did ask about catering. 

      We’ll see how this works out.  This should be fun.  There is one problem though. 

   Money.    I am unemployed, the wife and I have been contemplating filing for bankruptcy and here I am with this in my lap.  Hmm… I can handle it, if anyone was built to handle this kind of thing it was me. I am Christmas man after all.  I am the first to put up the tree and decorate, and the last to pull all the Christmas stuff down.  I sing Christmas carols all f****** year.  I love Christmas with all the reckless abandon of a 4 year old on a sugar rush in a toy store.  It is an outward vestment of the simple concept put forth by Charles Dickens “I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year”, and has much to do with love of the comfortable, warm cozy feeling the season brings, i guess. 

    But back to the money issue.  If the person who was tagged with the task of doing the party had little in the way of funds, I have next to nothing.  I have no idea how in G-d’s name i am going to do it.  Maybe sell my rookie Jerry Rice cards and my old baseball cards, and other valuable stuff on E-Bay.  Maybe just rip open the bank account and say F*** it, spend it all, let the bankruptcy court sort it out. 

    But i have to tell you that I don’t think that really matters.  Family, first, last and always.  And if I must lead, then so be it, I don’t mind.  Being unemployed, I have time to plan, even if I don’t have the money to spend to pull it off.   

    And the person who was trying to pull this off?  A real saint to my mind, hard working woman who has done nothing but try and try to get this done while fighting just to make ends meet while watching all her money go down the damn drain.  It wasn’t due to lack of trying that she wasn’t able to pull this off.  Circumstances simply overwhelmed her and made it too difficult for her to do this.  So from her hands will I take this burden, and do all I can.  It’s the least I could do.

   That said, any ideas and help from anyone out there would be greatly appreciated.

That’s it from here, Later.

   ____________________________________________________________________

Today’s nuggets, by Charles Dickens, via wikiquote:  “Merry Christmas! What right have you to be merry? What reason have you to be merry? You’re poor enough.” “Come, then,” returned the nephew gaily. “What right have you to be dismal? What reason have you to be morose? You’re rich enough.”

He had no further intercourse with Spirits, but lived upon the Total Abstinence Principle, ever afterwards; and it was always said of him, that he knew how to keep Christmas well, if any man alive possessed the knowledge. May that be truly said of us, and all of us! And so, as Tiny Tim observed, God bless Us, Every One!

Leave a Reply

