Anagram: Democracy In Action/ Or A Damn Icy Conceit


        I’ve been watching C-Span for the last few minutes and I am ever so slightly surprised to see the Stupak anti-abortion amendment pass.  766px-houseofrepresentativesFrom what I had heard, there weren’t enough votes to pass the stupak amendment.  I don’t off hand mind, not because I think there should be no abortion coverage per se, but because I think that until something better than the hyde amendment comes along, it is the law of the land and that is that.  The amendment passed 240-194

     The House has rejected the Republican alternative health care plan, 176-258.  This vote went almost  along party lines, with a single republican vote against the republican alternative.  That vote was from Tim Johnson, the representative from Urbana, Illinois. 

    At this point the motion to recommit is being debated, with 5 minutes of speeches by the Republicans before the vote to pass or not pass the Health care bill.  I, and I am sure that a great deal of other people, expect this bill to pass, albeit by a thin margin.  For those who do not know what “motion to recommit” means, it is simply a way to send the bill back to committee, to be reworked from the ground up. 

      But before the final vote, there is going to be a whole lot of yelling cajoling and wrangling.  That is what is going on now.  Rep. Braley from Iowa is speaking now, and they have had to stop the proceedings in order to bring the house to order.  There has been a great many instances of yelling from both sides of the house, both sides are really giving each other the business.

     In truth this is fun. If you want to watch it live, click here

   6 democrats have voted for the motion to recommit, one republican against, but the motion will not pass., with 8 minutes left in the vote, 229 dems and 1 repub have voted against the motion to recommit. 

The vote on the health care bill itself is happening as we speak. The votes tallied quickly early, and after only a few minutes most votes have been tallied. The early vote has gone almost entirely along party lines.  But that is changing as votes come in, with some democrats voting against.

  22 votes left, the bill sits at 208-205.  Passage may well happen in the next minute or two.

  17 votes left… 212-206, ten of those 17 votes are democrats and 7 are republican.

  10 votes left… 216-209, and the breakdown is now 7 dems and 3 gop.

   THE BILL IS PASSED.  11:07 pm  The final vote numbers:  220 – 215.  219 Democrats and 1 Republican for, 175 Republicans and 39 Democrats against.  The one republican to vote for the bill is Rep. Joseph Cao from Louisiana.

    And my representative, Rep. Mike McMahon (D) voted against.  I’m not sure how I feel about that.  I will wait until I hear why he voted against.  If I find out he’s a blue dog, he will NOT get my vote come next election cycle.  BLUE DOGS SUCK.  I don’t want to find out that I actually voted for some half assed republican wannabe when I thought I was voting for a Democrat. THAT would piss me off.  We’ll see.  I’ll be contacting his office to find out what the hell is up with this vote, and will let you know what happens.

   _____________________________________________________________________

    That’s it for me.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, via wikiquote:   Civil government, so far as it is instituted for the security of property, is in reality instituted for the defense of the rich against the poor, or of those who have some property against those who have none at all.  Adam Smith

The whole history of the progress of human liberty shows that all concessions yet made to her august claims have been born of earnest struggle. If there is no struggle, there is no progress. Those who profess to favor freedom, and yet deprecate agitation, are men who want crops without plowing up the ground, they want rain without thunder and lightning. They want the ocean without the awful roar of its many waters.  Frederick Douglass

2 thoughts on “Anagram: Democracy In Action/ Or A Damn Icy Conceit

  1. I just wrote the following e-mail to Rep. Mike McMahon’s office:

    Greetings, Rep. McMahon.

    I have a few simple questions. Why did you vote against the Affordable Healthcare for America Act? Was there a specific portion of the bill that you didn’t like, or was it just wrong for America in your eyes? What turned you against it? Was there anything they could have done in congress but didn’t to get your vote on this bill? Are you a “blue dog” democrat?

    I write a blog and told my readers I would ask you these questions. I would have written earlier, but i’ve been busy. Looking for work in this economy, after all, is in and of itself a full time job.

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Pingback: December’s Rhino Nuggets « Mike The Rhino

Leave a Reply

