Anagram: Wild Boy Strove/ Words To Live By


       This space was initially going to be about the Yankees, and about how wonderful the year was, and how great it’s going to be to actually be able to go to the canyon of  heroes this year, after missing every single other sports parade down there, ever, but the less than joyful events in Fort Hood pull me away from my sports joy to think and talk about slightly darker subject matter.  A viddy from a few hours ago on MSNBC.

    By now I am sure we are all caught up on the twisted events of this afternoon at Fort Hood in Texas.  A clearly disturbed man, an army psychologist who decided to kill his fellow soldiers in a homicidal frenzy which reminds one of the old method of suicide known in New York at least as “Death by cop”, apparently walked into a medical processing center and opened fire on the soldiers there, then did the same at a theatre.  Early reports said he had been killed, but now it is reported that the shooter, Maj. Nidal Malik Hasan, a psychiatrist in the Army Medical Corps, has actually survived the shooting, and the commanding officer at the Base says that Maj. Hasan is in custody and in no danger of dying.

     Say a  prayer for the wounded, the dead and their families. 

   _____________________________________________________________________

     One wonders why people act the way they act, and do the things they do.  This man was apparently unhappy about the thought of being skullfromthefrontdeployed overseas to Afghanistan.  So why take it out on your fellow soldiers? Why take it out on anyone? I read a report that said there was at least one blogpost this man wrote which equated suicide bombers with men falling on grenades to save their comrades, here’s the direct quote:  

“To say that this soldier committed suicide is inappropriate. Its more appropriate to say he is a brave hero that sacrificed his life for a more noble cause…Scholars have paralled (sic) this to suicide bombers whose intention, by sacrificing their lives, is to help save Muslims by killing enemy soldiers.”

     Tis sad and kinda pathetic that someone, an American someone, could make the incredibly long distance leap between someone dying to save his buddies in armed conflict by diving on a grenade, and the premeditated murder/suicide that he seemed to espouse here.  But in this world sickness happens, and sometimes it’s difficult to see and impossible to do anything about beforehand, as was the case here. 

    This wasn’t terrorism.  This was the act of a sick conflicted man who was smart enough to help others who had seen the horrors of war, and yet dumb enough, or more accurately stated, emotionally unstable enough to not see that using violence to end his problems would simply create more problems for both him and every one he hurt or killed.  

      _____________________________________________________________________

   800px-Monteverdi_Marienvesper_Altus  A break from the disheartening story to write about me for a minute.  I’ve attached a second page to this blog, called “Running Commentary” which is going to be my regular running log, just so I can have a regular bit in here about my running and my progress in that department, which is something I haven’t had on a regular basis in a LOOOOOOOOONG time.  I am also thinking of maybe, maybe, adding another page or two besides that.  One page I was thinking of adding would be on music, either reading, writing, playing guitar, musical exercises, stuff like that.  The other page would be more of an idea page.  I get a lot of ideas about what I want to write when I am out and about but I don’t use them all, not by a long shot, and maybe for short blistering rants where I can instantly react to the world around me. 

    I am thinking the name “Eighth Note” might work for the Musical section, as for the other, I am really not sure.  “Rhino Nuggets”  “RabbleBabble” and “Just a Thought” came to mind for titles for the other page.   

     I’m thinking of changing up my theme as well, we’ll see what happens.

   ___________________________________________________________________

   That’s it for me.  I’m heading to bed early, so I can wake up early so the wife an I can get to the Yankee Parade at the Canyon of Heroes.  Later!ddb 371-14

Today’s Nuggets, by Robert A. Heinlein from the novel “Stranger in a Strange Land”, Via Wikiquote:   Each sunrise is a precious jewel…for it may never be followed by its sunset.

Jealousy is a disease, love is a healthy condition. The immature mind often mistakes one for the other, or assumes that the greater the love, the greater the jealousy — in fact, they are almost incompatible; one emotion hardly leaves room for the other.

It would be a waste of breath to tell a man who believes in guns that you’ve got something better.

There is no safety this side of the grave.

I give you the water of life.   May you always drink deep.

2 thoughts on “Anagram: Wild Boy Strove/ Words To Live By

  1. I’ve got this rounded down to five possibilities for a new theme. Light, Ocean Mist, Redoable Lite, Vigilance, and one I’ve used before, Regulus.

    I think i get this done after I get back from Manhattan tomorrow afternoon.

    HAGN

  2. Pingback: Anagram: A Most Difficult Route/ It Suffocated Turmoil « Mike The Rhino

Leave a Reply

