Anagram: Two Years And Counting/ Nutty Words Once Again


     Yep, I’ve been writing here at wordpress for two years.  On October 28th 2007, I wrote my first post and introduced my writing to wordpress, i would say to the world, but I had written some at Yahoo and blogspot before I got here, but I digress.  As i recall it wasn’t exactly a smashing success right off the bat here.  In my first 4 months here,  writing almost everyday, I got a whopping 441 hits.  dictionarySo far today I have 424.  And I have been averaging 2000 hits a week for the last few weeks.  That might be nothing to you, and most of the rest of the world, but I’ll take it.

     My first blog here was titled “Hello World”, I hadn’t gotten to the anagrams yet, that would take a  few weeks.  It was an introduction to blogging here at wordpress after blogging for a while at Yahoo!, and I explained a little bit about myself and my style.  About how I usually toss out  my stance on political news, as well as my running times, and a few quotes at the end of each blog.  It was the style I had used when I was blogging at Yahoo! and blogspot, and I figured why change? No one read me there, but no one read blogs there at all anyway.  There was an article that pushed me away from Yahoo, by whom I do not remember, titled  “Yahoo 360 to close, no one notices” or something like that. 

   I have probably written over a million words, 680 posts (including this one) , at least 2,000 quotes(a few of which i have put in more than once) from hundreds of people, hundreds of videos and pictures, thousands of links and stories from all over the world.  And I am nowhere near close to being done.  There are still dragons to slay, demons to beat, stupidity to point out, a million reasons to poke fun at the high and mighty, and kick’em in the ass whenever possible.  Writing is a joy, and no matter what else happens, I’ll have my writing to help pull me through.

    On with the show.

   ____________________________________________________________________________________

    I’m sitting here with headphones on.  Not entirely able to drown out the outside world, but still able to enjoy the music I’m listening to as I write these words.  I have my happy Christmas music on, listening to the mellifluous tones of Bing Crosby singing “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed christmas-sceneReindeer”.  I’ve just finished my second cup of coffee and had some Swiss rolls after a largish dinner of chicken patties and french fries, and i have to tell you I am stuffed, happily getting fat sitting on my ass. The chicken was seasoned just right, a wee bit of onion powder, a little bit of garlic powder, and a pinch of kosher salt. Mmmmm. 

     If i didn’t run, i’d probably resemble Mr. Creosote from Monty Python’s “Meaning of Life”.  🙂

      The music shifts from Bing to Frank Sinatra singing “O little town of Bethlehem”. The light is too bright for my tastes, but not too harsh, I simply prefer darkness to the bright glare of fluorescent light.   My glasses are slightly dirty, and it changes the hue of the light, which gives the light a slight fog, and gives me a slight chuckle.  They’re always dirty, no matter how many times I clean them, no matter what I do.  It seems it is my fate to see the world in a dirty haze, caused in part by my oily, greasy skin.

    The next song comes on, “Jingle Bells” with Sammy Davis Jr., background vocals provided by Bing and Frank.  Nice.  I look to my right and see the 2009 general election voter guide, hanging sloppily off of the side of the arm of the sofa, threatening to slip off, and beside it is an old pillow and my wife, wearing sweats and a Yankee shirt,  leaning back a bit on the couch and writing lazily on her little notebook computer, bathed in the glow of the lights and her little computer screen.  There is some stupid commercial on the TV playing behind me.  Rachel Maddow is on.  I’m a Yankee fan and it is game one of the World Series, and the Yankees are playing.  So what the hell am I doing writing when I could be watching?  I have a bad feeling about tonight’s game, and my New York Rangers have already lost to the great hated satanic New York Islanders, and I just can’t bear to watch. 

    The Song changes yet again, Bing singing “Adeste Fideles”  This is a treat.  Bing singing in Latin. I like this song in Latin, Latin is a beautiful language, and I actually know the words in the original Latin as well, which is something I am sure most people cannot say.  At the family Christmas parties, it’s usually me and a few aunts who sing the Latin part.  No one seems to know or care about the language.  Sad, really.  No language that exists in even one place should be allowed to die out.  I’ve thought that for awhile, which is how i came to begin trying to learn Irish Gaelic.  I don’t know much of the language to be honest, but there is a little bit of it there. 

    And the Yankee game is back on the TV.  While I can’t bear to watch, I can’t bear NOT to watch… then I turn to look at the computer screen and a small figurine just to it’s left catches my eye.  A small Santa figure carved from wood in a sleigh.  Maybe an inch high, less than an inch wide and about 2 inches long.  The sleigh in forest green with golden accents, shaded somewhat by the computer screen and dull from age with Santa red and white, with a few very tiny gifts in the front.  And the song changes yet again, Nat King Cole this time, singing “Away in the Manger”

     And that’s what my world looked like for 20 minutes.  A tranquil and relaxed place.  The Christmas stuff might seem odd to you, with Christmas 2 months off, but if it brings me a bit of peace and serenity, does it matter what it is?

    No blog tomorrow, I think.  Traveling to Brockton Massachusetts to visit with the In-Laws for a few days.  The wife and I were supposed to do that two weeks ago, but her allergies kicked in and kept her, and me, here.

     ______________________________________________________________________________________

That’s it from here.  Later!

Today’s nuggets, via Wikiquote:  You can approach the act of writing with nervousness, excitement, hopefulness, or even despair–the sense that you can never completely put on the page what’s in your mind and heart. You can come to the act with your fists clenched and your eyes narrowed, ready to kick ass and take down names. You can come to it because you want a girl to marry you or because you want to change the world. Come to it any way but lightly. Let me say it again: you must not come lightly to the blank page.  Stephen King

Tomorrow may be hell, but today was a good writing day, and on the good writing days nothing else matters.  Neil GaimanRhino

Christmas is not a time nor a season, but a state of mind. To cherish peace and goodwill, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.    Calvin Coolidge

The rhino is a homely beast,
For human eyes he’s not a feast.
Farwell, farewell, you old rhinoceros,
I’ll stare at something less prepoceros.  Ogden Nash

Leave a Reply

