Anagram: Sitting Around/ Orating Nudist


       That title should get a few hits that have nothing to do with this actual blogpost.  

     And now for something completely different…

    The bailout babies are about to get spanked.  It seems that the Obama administration has been paying rather close attention to the news lately, and more than just the alleged news stations, and they’ve heard the news that companies that have been bailed out planning on giving their top executives more in bonuses this year than they did in 2007, the year the bubble began to burst.  They heard it and decided enough is enough.   The top twenty five executives as several major financial firms, as well as two automakers, will have their cash salaries cut by 90%.

    money1It’s not official yet because the White House hasn’t announced it.  The announcement hopefully is on  the way.

     Wait.  Just their cash salaries?  Doesn’t seem enough, does it?  With the amount of money these guys get in compensation OTHER than cash?  The head of Citigroup got $10,800,000 worth of executive compensation last year, including nearly 8 million dollars worth of retention and sign on bonuses, and that was for last year.  Curious it would be if this guy Pandit, or any of his multi millionaire buddies got more money this year in stock options and other compensation and was able to get away with it after we gave them all that bailout money.  Good to see that there will be an eye on this situation, it is a step in the right direction, but if they only go after ca$h, they won’t be much to help in stopping these rich bitches from taking us to the cleaners….again.      

     The other companies besides Citigroup that will be Bank of America, GMAC, General Motors, Chrysler, Chrysler Financial, and AIG.  One wonders whether other companies that have taken bailout money will be held to the same standard as  these 7 companies.

     ___________________________________________________________________________________

   The news is also out that there is a decision on a potential Afghan war troop increase before the run-off election on November 7th on the way from the Obama administration.  But in a curious note even if the decision is made before the election, the administration may not announce until after the election.  Curious that.  I don’t mind that he’s taking the time to make sure that he gets it right, but dammit that sounds like a way to cover ass while not actually making a decision. 

     That, Mister President, doesn’t sit well with me.  I voted for you, I believe in your agenda.  Much of what you have stated is very much in tune with the way I think, and there are a great many Americans who feel the same way.  Sitting here and even giving this impression of uncertainty here hurts you, and by proxy all of us.  Give a concrete date for a decision, Mister President.  It’s great that you won’t be pushed into a decision, but set a firm date dammit. 

     Maybe I ask too much, asking that The President give a specific date and show certainty by giving it, while at the same time taking the time he needs to make the right decision, understanding that the situation is fluid.   Maybe I do, but I expect much. It’ll eventually happen, and this situation will pass, but it’s a pain in the ass in the meantime.

     ___________________________________________________________________________________

       Oh, BTW, the whole “sitting around” in the title? That’s what I’ve been doing all day, and in fact for most of the time I’ve been unemployed.  It is annoying as all hell, to be honest.  I do look for work, most every day.  I do stuff around the house,  run, workout, cook, eat, blog.  I don’t mind resting, but this is ridiculous.   It seems that the hardest bit for me to deal with is just what exactly to do with myself when I have done all the other stuff that I have done is in fact done.   I HATE sitting around doing nothing.  

    It is a little magnified at this point because I haven’t run or worked out in a few days because I’m a bit sore and not 100%.  Which means I have even more time on my hands, which I have to tell you is a royal pain in the ass.  The worst part? I don’t watch as much news or c-span than I used to when I was working, despite the fact I have more time to.  I don’t exactly know why either.  Odd. 

     I would guess that I’m getting on my wife’s nerves at this point.  I hope not.  Don’t want to damage the marriage along with bank account.

   __________________________________________________________________________________

   That’s It from here. Except for the second viddy.  I gave you “full frontal nudity” by Monty python in the first viddy to cover the nudist bit in the title, and seeing how there is also “orating” in the anagram here, the second viddy is oration.  The Julius Caesar funeral Oration, from Shakespeare, as done by Marlon Brando.

   __________________________________________________________________________________adam_smith

Today’s Nuggets, by Adam Smith, Via Wikiquote:  People of the same trade seldom meet together, even for merriment and diversion, but the conversation ends in a conspiracy against the public, or in some contrivance to raise prices. It is impossible indeed to prevent such meetings, by any law which either could be executed, or would be consistent with liberty and justice. But though the law cannot hinder people of the same trade from sometimes assembling together, it ought to do nothing to facilitate such assemblies; much less to render them necessary. 

All for ourselves, and nothing for other people, seems, in every age of the world, to have been the vile maxim of the masters of mankind.

Leave a Reply

