Anagram: Abhorrent Mistake/ A Break In The Storm


      This viddy is proof positive that the last thing you need in a windstorm is a microphone.  Pretty uneventful viddy otherwise.

       Today’s run was fun.  I ran 11.4 miles in 1 hour, 34 minutes, 37 seconds, which is an 8 minute 17.98 second minute per mile average.  Normally I would think of this as a pretty slow time, but not today.  There was wind, more than I have seen during a run in a long time, but it wasn’t the wind itself that made things interesting.  It was the fact that the trees in the park and around where I live seemed to just break apart in it.  The path was strewn with a million leaves, and when the wind whipped up well over 40 miles an hour, which it did quite a lot, it looked like a leaf-storm, it was like running into a tornado of leaves, a few times I saw people see it, feel the wind and turn and go in the other direction covering their faces, afraid of the ferocity of wind and a million whipped around leaves and such.

     The “and such” there was also fun.  The trees are just starting to turn colors, and they still have thousands of acorns. A lot of them fell today, and the monotonous staccato of them sounded at times like rain, hard rain, and more than once I found myself in the middle of an acorn-storm.  The wind made what would normally be only a few of these acorns falling an absolute wave, washing down from the trees and completely littering the ground with the stuff.  There were in sections of the park a literal carpet of acorns, it was impossible to walk or run without stepping on a great number of them.  It was also fun from that angle, because when it wasn’t falling on me and anyone else in the area, it was threatening to injure the feet or roll the ankles of anyone who dared the course.

  412px-Windswept     I dared, and I am glad to say I made it through unscathed.  My right foot is a bit sore because I landed on something on the ball of my foot, something round (damned acorns), and it hurt like hell and had me limping for a few strides out there.  But if that’s the worst that happened, I was lucky.  I wasn’t the only person who should feel lucky after dealing with trees and wind.

        After walking through a small portion of the park on the way back home, I saw a car, a small car, a saturn I think,  parked in a driveway entrance to the park.  Curious, I walked a little closer to investigate.  As I get closer I see two men near the car, One with a camera, taking pictures.  My first thought was a fender bender, but I didn’t see another car.   When the guy with the camera moved I saw why the car was stopped.  There was a fairly large chunk of tree on the guys hood.  Call it a piece slightly thicker than a bat and several feet long, tapering to twig thickness at the far end, away from the windshield, dangling just above the road a few feet past the edge of the hood.  But as I got closer I noticed something else.  The piece of tree just wasn’t on his hood, it was lodged about a foot into his windshield, and it was aligned with his steering wheel, directly over it.  That man was amazingly lucky to walk away in one piece.  5 more MPH, a stronger gust of wind at that point, and it isn’t near his face, it’s through it.  I can imagine what his face looked like as a piece of tree suddenly crashed into his windshield, and stood mere inches from his face.

      I had a good day.  Not once did mother nature attempt to impale me.  I’m pretty happy about that. I’m sure the guy who almost got impaled feels happy about being able to use that word almost, or any word for that matter. 

   _________________________________________________________________________________________

     That’s it from here.  Later!

Today’s Nuggets, Via wikiquote:  The Westerly Wind asserting his sway from the south-west quarter is often like a monarch gone mad, driving forth with wild imprecations the most faithful of his courtiers to shipwreck, disaster, and death.  Joseph Conrad

Like the wind crying endlessly through the universe, Time carries away the names and the deeds of conquerors and commoners alike. And all that we are, all that remains, is in the memories of those who cared we came this way for a brief moment.   Harlan Ellison

I find that the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand as in what direction we are moving: To reach the port of heaven, we must sail sometimes with the wind and sometimes against it— but we must sail, and not drift, nor lie at anchor. Oliver Wendell Holmes Sr.

Leave a Reply

