Anagram: Playing Canasta/ Analytic Pagans


        I really am dragging a bit here. I am running more and harder than I have in a long time.  Just short of 50 miles this week, not much different than the previous few weeks, but what I’ve done different is alter where I’m running.  I have added a fair amount of hill running to my repertoire and frankly it’s taken a fair bit out of me.  I don’t mind to be honest, I like working hard and this has been the focus of much of my mind lately to be honest.

      I’m still looking for work, don’t get me wrong, I’m not giving up any bit of effort on the job hunt by focusing on running.  What I am doing is focusing on something that has made me better stronger and more successful.  The Job hunt has been amazingly unsuccessful the last few weeks.  Haven’t gotten a nibble, not a bite, and it is a bit disconcerting.  But there is good news.   Next week I am going to be going back to workforce one and I am going to try to get a voucher to have the city pay for retraining me to be a paralegal.   It is a gatlin on-line course, 300 dictionarycourse hours covering tort law, criminal law, product liability and estates law, among other subjects. 

        I’ve touched on some of these subjects, albeit lightly through my years working at law firms.  I know, I know, what does a copy guy know? If he has half a brain, he tries his best to learn what the lawyers he’s working with are doing so he can best assist them.  THAT was the real secret to why everyone loved me where I worked for years, I was in the same boat as the people who worked with me and did my level best to have my head in the same place they were, which was not making copies, but in the actual work, the actual law, and would take the time to talk to them about it, to soak in what I could.  Much of the interest that I have shown in actual law here is based on what I learned from people there. 

     I feel confident here.  I do in truth dislike the thought of working in an office again, but I’ll go where the money goes, and Paralegal pays well, better than what I was making even at an absolutely base level.  Nice.

   ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

     I am done, I’m gonna go relax with my wife and watch some hockey highlights.  My Rangers lost tonight 3-2 to the Stanley Cup champion Penguins, they played hard but the breaks didn’t go there way out there.  Still managed to keep it close, The Pens have a TON of talent, but they never really ran away with it.   The Rangers were bad in a few spots though, The power play was a hairy mess, and it seemed every time Wade Redden got the puck it left the zone.  This team needs someone to work on passing drills, the passing just wasn’t crisp.  I like Gaborik, ya can’t help but like him, he’s got tons of talent, but I think my Fav new Ranger is the Kid, Del Zotto.  19 years old, good presence on the ice, excellent awareness overall.  I was duly impressed.   

    A viddy someone shot at the game of a fight between Brashear and Goddard.  Note the 30 second mark, right after Brashear’s helmet comes off, goddard tries several times to headbutt him. 

   _______________________________________________________________________________________

      The Job numbers that came out earlier today were a LOT worse than anyone thought they would be, two hundred sixty three thousand, over one hundred thousand more jobs were lost than were projected.  The market, bless their hearts, didn’t lose their minds and panic.  The market only ended up losing 21 points.  Nice.  I’m proud of you bums

   _______________________________________________________________________________________

   That’s about it for me.  Later.  I am going to do something a little different tonight, rather than quotes from wikiquote, I am going to toss out  some unsuccessful attempts to amend the constitution, as listed on wikisource.

Today’s Nuggets:  Birthright citizenship abolition amendment

Proposed April 13, 2005

SECTION 1. No person born in the United States after the date of the ratification of this article shall be a citizen of the United States, or of any State, on account of birth in the United States unless the mother or father of the person is a citizen of the United States, or is lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States, at the time of the birth.

SECTION 2. The Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation.

Equal Opportunity to Govern Amendment (a.k.a. The Hatch Amendment) Proposed July 10, 2003 (failed)

SECTION 1. A person who is a citizen of the United States, who has been for 20 years a citizen of the United States, and who is otherwise eligible to the Office of President, is not ineligible to that Office by reason of not being a native born citizen of the United States.

SECTION 2. This article shall not take effect unless it has been ratified as an amendment to the Constitution by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States not later than 7 years from the date of its submission to the States by the Congress.

Leave a Reply

