Anagram: Influences/ Fun License


        I have been playing  my guitar a fair bit.  I have in fact been playing a lot more now that I have the time to play between the time I’m looking 800px-Monteverdi_Marienvesper_Altusfor a job and the time I’m blogging or doing whatever around the house.  Today’s blog will have everything to do with musical influences of mine. 

    Let’s begin.

    First off, I think we have to go to the acoustic work of Jethro Tull.  I have been in love with the acoustic work for as long as i have been aware of it.  I think the first place I ran into it was with Aqualung, but I think this song is representative of the stuff that i first fell in love with all those years ago.

    If I move up a few years, and get to the point where I am actually beginning to play music, My life was in flux, i was changing as a person and the music I listened to was changing along with me.  I was also pretty damn high, and i had fun and i think that shows in the music i was listening to at that point.  There was The Grateful Dead, Old Pink Floyd, Tangerine Dream, and this,  Frank Zappa.   Frank wasn’t just fun and subversive, it was also incredibly well put together music.  The man was a musical genius, from both a writing and playing perspective.  Listen and enjoy.

470px-Maple_Leaf_Rag_1st_ed_2    I’m going to fast forward a few years again.  It’s sometime in 1986 or 87, I’m in college and I am working in a radio station with, as well as being taught Jazz Theory by a man named Vanig Hovsepian.  Better known as Turk Van Lake, he played music with and wrote for, among other jazz luminaries Duke Ellington and Lionel Hampton. It is here in this place at this time that I learned about true musical diversity, learned that music doesn’t have to be rock to be good.  I heard many names that I had never heard before but which would have a profound impact on my playing.  I am going to pick just one of the many names that defined this period.  I thought about a number of peoples music to throw out.  Cannonball Adderly, John Coltrane, Ornette Coleman, Charlie Parker.  But thought I should go with a guitarist, seeing how i play the instrument.  Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Joe Pass.

      FUN!   Complete 180 Degree musical turnaround.  Those of you who’ve read and listened here before know about my love of metal, so here’s some METAL.  Live Slayer from just a few years ago, but the song is from early in their career.  CHEMICAL WARFARE!  The Dual guitar attack of King and Hanneman is perhaps one of the best in all of Metal.

   That’s all for now, except for a few quotes.  Catch ya later!

Today’s Nuggets, Via Wikiquote:    Don’t be discouraged by a failure. It can be a positive experience. Failure is, in a sense, the highway to success, in as much as every discovery of what is false leads us to seek earnestly after what is true, and every fresh experience points out some form of error which we shall afterwards carefully avoid.    John Keats

Roaming through the jungle of “oohs” and “ahs,” searching for a more agreeable noise, I live a life of primitivity with the mind of a child and an unquenchable thirst for sharps and flats.   Duke Ellington

Relax. Be yourself. Play a lot.  Joe Satriani

Leave a Reply

