Anagram: Happy Birthday Nasa/Path By Hairy Pandas


         A happy Birthday to NASA!  July 29th 1958 was truly a great day in American history.  NASA Put man on the moon, has kept America and Americans in space since 1960, and Dammit I am proud and happy to be a Citizen of the Nation that brought this great organization forth.  Yeah, they’ve had bad times, and no organization is perfect, but they have done more for science than any organization on Earth.  The above picture is from Nasa’s Astronomy Picture of the Day for July 19th.

       Next Up.  News.

      Senator Ted Stevens from Alaska, a man who helped get Alaska made the 50th state in the Union, and the Senate’s longest serving Republican, has been Indicted for making false statements in a corruption case.  He has allegedly taken a total of $250,000 from the oil company Veco, and It’s CEO over a period of ten years.  Gifts of over $10,000 are supposed to be reported and he apparently did not do so.  He claims that he has done no wrong.  There is more.  Quoting the LATimes.com story:    

The indictment alleges that while he was receiving these gifts, Stevens “could and did use his official position and his office on behalf of VECO during the same time period.” Among the company’s requests, said the indictment, were federal grants from several agencies as well as help in building a natural gas pipeline in Alaska’s North Slope region.    

And there is more beyond even that…  I do not know whether the company was actually given what they requested, but I have to tell you that I would presume that they got what they want. But I am not 100% certain, and I am not sure that anyone will know for sure until this gets to court, if it does.  When I know for certain I will let you know.   Which Brings me to another Subject. 

       Idiots On C-span.  I was watching c-span and they had callers on after the Indictment press conference, and I have to tell you, they were some of the least intelligent semi-simian fruit-cakes I have heard in a while, since at the very least the last John McCain press conference.  Lemme run one by you here. 

     THERE ALL GUILTY OF SOMETHIN! I DON’T TRUST NONE OF’EM.

            If that were actually true, a lot more of them would be up the river doing a stretch in the county pen (aka country club jail and tennis court)  Most of these fine men and women are good people doing their best for their constituencies.  And if you can prove something and have some information beyond “I KNOW THEIR GUILTY DAMMIT” then by all means contact your local police with the information and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.   

    Paranoia mixed with stupidity is, if nothing else, entertaining.  But it doesn’t belong on C-span.  Unless they want to change their network name to See-Spam.

       In Other News, there was a moderate Earthquake in Los Angeles today.  Well if you call a 5.8 earthquake moderate.  If my house was shaking to the point where crap started falling off of the shelves I would be be thinking this isn’t exactly moderate.  But that’s just me.

     News Flash.  I FELL FOR IT!  Scott McClellan went on Bill O’Reilly’s radio show today and basically recanted everything he said about the Bush Administration giving talking points to Bill O’Reilly and the Fox.  And I did a BIG write-up in Yesterday’s election-coverage.com about it. 

    Can you say egg on Mikey’s Face?  I CAN!  To all those who read that article, I heartily apologize.

    The man Lied on National Television and I bought it. Dammit.  I thought I was smarter than that. 

      A Video for those of you interested:  John McCain talking about the Surge on CBS News and then press conferences by Colonel MacFarland and President Bush showing the actual history of the Insurgency, contrary to McCain’s Viewpoint, courtesy of TPMtv .

     

   That’s it for me.  Later.

Today’s Nuggets, Via Wikiquote:  A word must become a friend or you will not understand it. Perhaps you do well to be cool and detached when you are seeking information, but I remind you of the wife who complained, ‘When I ask John if he loves me, he thinks I am asking for information.   Edward Coke

The blessings we associate with a life of refinement and culture can be made universal. The good we secure for ourselves is precarious and uncertain until it is secured for all of us and incorporated into our common life.  Jane Addams

One thought on “Anagram: Happy Birthday Nasa/Path By Hairy Pandas

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

