Anagram: Vice President Clinton/Clever Incident Points

There is a faction within the democratic party, some of these being well wishers who are thinking to themselves that If Hillary can’t be Number one, she should be Number two, are ratcheting up the pressure on the Obama campaign to pick Senator Clinton as his running mate, but Hillary is seemingly disavowing them, at least on the face of it. It still does look like she is positioning herself to get that spot, if Barack Obama, the Presumptive Democratic Nominee for President, is willing to give it to her. Quoting a New York Times report:

While Senator Clinton has made clear throughout this process that she will do whatever she can to elect a Democrat to the White House, she is not seeking the vice presidency, and no one speaks for her but her,” Howard Wolfson, one of the campaign’s chief strategists, said in a statement provided to The New York Times. “The choice here is Senator Obama’s and his alone.”
On Wednesday, Robert L. Johnson, the founder of Black Entertainment Television and one of Mrs. Clinton top contributors, called on the Congressional Black Caucus to make Mrs. Clinton’s case with Mr. Obama. Earlier this week, Lanny Davis, an aide in Bill Clinton’s White House, joined an effort calling on Mr. Obama to choose Mrs. Clinton.

I’m not sure that he should pick her. I really think there are better people out there. I will place here a short list of those who are the brightest lights, in my mind, in the democratic party as potential running mates for Barack Obama, with negatives if i think it necessary.

1) Bill Clinton. Yes the man can at times be a gruff, angry overbearing pain in the ass, but he is also a masterful politican, and there are many people out there who remember with fondness the comparative good times this nation had while Under his leadership. He is a strong willed and Intelligent man who knows the Ins and outs of Politics in Washington. Negative: Monica Lewinsky, Temper.

2) Sen. Jim Webb. Former Secretary of the Navy, and Junior Senator from Virginia, this man served with distinction In Vietnam, Earning 2 purple hearts, two bronze stars, a silver star, and the Second Highest honor the Navy hands out, The Navy cross, as a platoon commander in the 1st Battalion, 5th marines. He has served as the junior senator from Virginia since January last year.

3) Ed Rendell. Current Governor of Pennsylvania, and former Mayor of Philadelphia. Cut Philadlephia’s $250,000,000 budget deficit, and oversaw five years of Budget surpluses after that. He garnered many republican votes in winning the race for governor, due to his creation of the budget surplus in philadelphia during his years as mayor. Negative: has publicly stated he doesn’t want to be V.P. (minds however can change)

4) Ted Strickland. Current Governor of Ohio and former 7 term representative of Ohio’s 6th district(steubenville). He is a popular governor in a swing state and is much more conservative than Barack Obama and as a consequence, would balance the ticket Nicely. Negative: see Ed Rendell’s negatives.

5) Steny Hoyer. Long Time democratic Representative from Maryland’s 5th District. Named house majority leader, #2 behind current house speaker Nancy Pelosi. A civil rights and human rights leader in the congress. Most well known for sponsoring passage of the “Americans with disabilities act of 1990″ Negative: Outside of political circles, virtually Unknown.

6) Hillary Rodham Clinton. 2 term Senator from new york. Former First lady. Kinda have to put her here with all the specualtion. She’s tough, smart, spunky and ran what appears to me to be the best ever campaign that led to a defeat. She has been a tireless worker for better health care since her days as first lady.

As far as i see it this race should boil down to one name. Jim Webb. But with Hillary Clinton pushing as hard as she has been to get her name on the ticket, this in now a two horse race. I am now asking her, please, remove your name from this list. I am sure it hurt like hell to have lost such a hard fought race for the right to go against John McCain for President of the United States, Don’t compound it by putting yourself in the position of Losing this one as well.

Webb is better suited for the position, In my Opinion. I think you are a great Senator, Hillary, Don’t do yourself more harm by aiming for VP here.

And now, a short goodbye to Presidential candidate Hillary Clinton.

On January 21st 2007 you announced your intention to run for the Presidency of The United States of America. But those of us who knew anything about anything, knew more or less from your first day as a senator,from when you defeated Rick Lazio for New York Senate, that you were going to give this a shot.

You knew from the beginning that it wasn’t going to be easy, but you didn’t know it would be this tough. You gave it everything you could. But it wasn’t enough. There were a great many things that stood in your way, and you cleared nearly every hurdle. except one. Barack Obama.

It was nice seeing you give it a shot. You went further then any woman had ever gone before, but it wasn’t meant to be. Maybe someday….

I would like to say that I am happy. I am not. I Voted for you Hillary. I wanted to see your Vision of America be the one to lead us out of the Dark hole that The Bush Presidency has become. I Do not have a problem with a potential President Obama, But I would much rather have seen a President Hillary Clinton. Most of the argument raised against you were personality driven, had nothing to do with how you would have run the nation.

Goodbye Candidate Clinton. Welcome Back Senator Clinton, good to see you again.

That’s It for Politics and Opinion. Onto personal stuff and a Video.

No Run.

Guitar: A very Limited amount of playing today. call it 20 minutes. A few modes. A few scales. Not much else. I’ll play more tomorrow.

Video: Dick Cheney telling us, back in 1994, that It would have been a mistake to go to baghdad. Listen for the word quagmire.

That’s It for Me. JAM ON!

Today’s Nuggets, Via Wikiquote: The difficulty lies, not in the new ideas, but in escaping from the old ones, which ramify, for those brought up as most of us have been, into every corner of our minds. John Maynard Keynes

Men … are easily induced to believe that in some wonderful manner everybody will become everybody’s friend, especially when some one is heard denouncing the evils now existing in states, suits about contracts, convictions for perjury, flatteries of rich men and the like, which are said to arise out of the possession of private property. These evils, however, are due to a very different cause—the wickedness of human nature. Aristotle

Anagram:…My Day at The Old Stadium!!!/Adults Today…HEY! DAMMIT!!

yankee-stadium My wife and I Went to Yankee Stadium Yesterday. Tier box sec.30 box 658. row F seats 7 and 8 If you were there and you saw a guy with an old Thurman Munson shirt on and a crew cut screaming like a maniac and a poor girl with a Paul O’Neill Jersey sitting next to him….That was us. We Had a BLAST.

It was raining. It was chilly. Early on the elements really tempted me and the wife to move somewhere warm. But we didn’t.

First things first. When we get there, I see what I think is someone sitting in our seats, So, being the gentleman that i am, I Bonk the Guy sitting in that seat with my Umbrella. He looks up and sees me, and I say in my deepest, stentorian voice “YOUR SITTING IN MY SEAT” He looks at my ticket, and says “um, no that’s the seats right next to us” and points….and there they are seats 7 and 8, right next to him……DAMN Did I feel stupid… But ya know, if you are stupid like that you really should feel stupid, for at least a minute. I apologized and me and my wife took our seats. She said something, i don’t remember what, probably something like “YOU MORON” that’s a guess. I did deserve it. If that guy is reading this, I’m sorry brother. :-)

I screamed Myself hoarse at the game. Yelling at the least provocation. Yelling at the Ump. Yelling at the Blue Jays. Yelling at the Yankees. Screaming at…well….EVERYTHING. You don’t go to Yankee stadium to be Quiet! I normally have a semi deep voice, but I’m telling you from all the yelling I did yesterday I sound like wolfman jack right now. That’s f*cking wonderful!

Mike “MOOOOOOOOOSE” Mussina wasn’t all that bad, not great but not bad either. He and the defense behind him got the Job done, getting Scott Rolen to ground into a double play to end the first. And he did get better as the game went on. He gave up 1 run on 5 hits, 3 of them in the first two innings and struck out a season high 6 batters in 6 innings of work. He got tired in the 6th tho, and as the pitch count hit the high 90′s, he started to lose a bit of control. First he gave up a walk to Marco Scuturo and then a double to Scott Rolen, who had been 0-2 at that point, to score Toronto’s Only run.

Hmmm, let’s see, what else….Wilson Betemit hit a Solo Home run, Jose Molina went 2 for 3 and scored 2 runs, I think he raised his average 20 points yesterday with that performance! Johnny Damon and Hideki Matsui were, as usual, solid performers. Johnny went 3 for 4 with an RBI and Hideki went 2 for 3, also with an RBI. Bobby Abreu couldn’t catch a break tho. He was the only guy to not get a hit in the yankees line up yesterday. Po fella. He’ll make up for it today, I’m sure.

Let’s see what else happened, Oh Yeah, Derek Jeter passed Mickey Mantle for third place on the Yankees’ all-time hits list, with his 2,416th hit, a run scoring single in the third inning. WTG Derek! I watched it on television. Why did i do that when I was at the Stadium, you ask? Lemme tell ya why. I was on line waiting to order food when it happened. The people ahead of me were all ordering everything they could get their hands on, I’m talking $60 orders worth of $5 hot dogs and as many beers as you can spill on 51,151 people! …..Can’t be helped i guess.

Helluva win yesterday fellas! Now let’s see if we can’t turn this season around, huh?

BTW, I drank no beer at the game! Well, I don’t really drink anymore, but even if I did, $8.50 beers would have scared me away anyway. Someones gotta pay A-Rod’s $35,000,000 per year salary. And guess who that is? YOU, you stadium dwelling creatures! And they don’t just get you there. $5 hot dogs, $5 bottles of water, $4 pretzel, $8 sausage $60 sweatshirts! Holy Crap, they get ya everywhere!

Between tickets, food, and a sweatshirt that my wife needed because she was freezing her ass off by the end of the game, the whole thing cost over $210!!! Let me tell you, I really enjoyed myself, but neither of us is made of money.

We regular everyday Yankee fans can’t really afford the experience anymore. The team needs to pay for all these millionaire hotshot players, and the poor guy and girl who bust their asses have to foot the bill. They really need to do something about that. We ain’t made of money!

I would go to the Stadium more often, but I’m not rich. You have to save up for a few weeks or even months to afford to go there and have the “Ballpark experience”

Politics, Music, quotes, and Hillary says goodbye in my next post.

The Rhino!