Anagram: Right Vs Responsibility/Glib Story Inverts Ship

Musashi  This one Is going out to Matt Drudge.  You’re an Idiot.  What the hell were you thinking when you put out the story with the known whereabouts Of Prince Harry? You placed Him and All his compatriots with him in Danger by putting out a story telling the world where he was stationed.  The British press knew the story months ago, as did CNN International, and one can presume that if CNN Int. Knew, so did CNN.  The press had been asked by The British to keep a Tight lid On the story to keep those men safe.  You blew their cover. Why?  To get an Exclusive?  To be the first with the news? Despite the fact that news agencies on two Continents, and maybe more, were purposefully keeping things quiet so the Young Man could do his job? Like i said, You are an Idiot, Drudge.  You have rights, Mr. Drudge, but you should also think about your responsibilities to your public and The people you report about.  You do have a right To try as hard as you can to Put out a story before anyone else does.  But you also have a Responsibilty to make sure that in putting out that story, you do nothing that could Harm any person in any significant way. 

I can hear the argument against the responsibility Angle “But Mike, People can get hurt at any time for all sorts of reasons, I can’t help what others do with the Information I put out there, I have a story and a job to think of.”  Bullshit.  The people you report on are PEOPLE.  You do Not have the RIGHT to jeopardize the lives of those people by putting Information out there that could conceivably get him, or his fellow soldiers, killed.  If any person got hurt or killed as a result, Mr. Drudge, of you Putting that Information out there, Those Deaths and Injuries would Directly be Your fault.  To Avoid your Responsibilty towards your fellow man for your own personal gain really puts the yellow In Yellow Journalism.  To even put the Prince and his Fellow soldiers In harms way by reporting their whereabouts in an Ongoing Battle, regardless of who they are, Is An Immensely Irresponsible Act. 

Next Up: I’ve been going through the CNN Political Ticker, and I have definitely seen an Upswing in the Amount of stories, and amazingly Most of them Positive, Involving Hillary Clinton.  From the Story on her giving a speech in Dallas saying she’s gonna clean house when she gets Elected President, to a Story stating she’s going to be On the Daily show with John Stewart Monday Night, to another about a rally in Waco where she said The Junior Senator from Illinois was “Missing in Action” during key security decisions in the Senate.  I haven’t seen This much Positive press for Hillary Since Stupor Tuesday.  Perhaps they have a sense that there is some change in the air in Texas and Ohio…..Hmmmm. 

Maybe, Maybe not. The Polls that I’m seeing from Real Clear Politics show no Major switch In Hillary’s Numbers in an upward Manner.  There is a Sense, if anything, of the opposite going on, the Continuation of The Obamarama express rolling on.  She is Leading, If Only slightly, In Ohio, and The Junior Senator from Illinois actually has a slim lead in Most Texas Polls.  She is, However, Smoking Him In Rhode Island, and leading relatively Impressively In Pennsylvania. 

Just checking some Other Poll stuff out here.  Hmmmm.  Interesting.  McCain would beat Hillary in several of these Polls, but The percentage of undecideds in each case where McCain leads is actually Larger than the Amount he would conceivably win by.  Not the Same thing can be said for Mr. Obama.  It Looks like the Lead Mr. Obama has would disappear with the undecideds, much the same as Senator McCain’s does when Running against Hillary. Judge for yourself.  http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/2008/president/us/general_election_mccain_vs_clinton-224.html        http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/2008/president/us/general_election_mccain_vs_obama-225.html

If I read anything into this, It is that the race for The Presidency is wide open, and Any of the Remaining Contenders can win.  Don’t Count McCain out just because he’s a Republican and their is an Immensly Unpopular Republican President In office.  Don’t Count Clinton out, even with the string Of Losses she’s suffered in the last month.  Don’t Place the First Place trophy In Anyone’s hands quite yet.  Like Yogi Berra Used to say: “It ain’t Over til it’s over”

Unless you are Mike Huckabee.  Then It’s over.  Very over. President Huckabee? Nope! Vice President Huckabee?  Mmmmmmmaybe.  He is Positioning himself to try for the VP Spot.  I can think of several Other Republicans I would place over The Man who wouldn’t go away.  Arlen Specter.  Jim Bunning.  Tom Coburn.  Each of these would help The Republican Ticket more Than The Huckster.  But that’s Just me talking….

That’s It For Politics.  Onto The Personal Stuff…

Just an FYI Here, Look to the right.  I added a BUNCH of stuff to the Blogroll.  Enjoy!

Ran 3.45 Miles today.  Ran it in 26:03.32 for a 7:33.13 M/M Pace.  I was Faster than I have been In a while today.  Pushed Hard in the wind the Whole time, and I was feeling it by the end of the run.  I Thought I was gonna Die at one point.  I was breathing out of sync and rapidly, I felt Like I was gonna pass out.  Stopped.  With about 3 blocks to go before I finished.  Only stopped for about 30 seconds, maybe even less, just enough to get My composure back.  Finished by pushing even harder for that final 90 seconds or so.  Felt stupid for stopping that close to the end, but I needed to, The Hills and the wind Just took it out of me.  But Look at that Time.  My Left leg was a little sore after this run, but stretching and cooling down helped Minimize that.  It’s a little stiff now, but no worries.  Soon enough I’ll be Hitting that Time with relative ease and doing it over longer distances.  Spring is coming.  I’ll be ready.

Played guitar for a Fair bit today.  More than I have played in a while.  Played The Alternate picking single string exercises.  Played the Major and Minor scales in all keys, as well as 2 different Pentatonic scales.  played One and two octave versions of the Minor scales.  I played around, just noodled for a bit, but then I got to playing a little bit of actual music.  Found an OLD tape and Played along with the Grateful dead for a Bit.  Jamming with a Jam Band.  Nice. Really had fun playing “Cosmic Charlie”  Then after doing that, and then one or two of my own songs, I broke out a month old Acoustic guitar Magazine and tried my hand at playing Jim Croce’s “Time in a bottle”  The Beginning of it is actually More difficult than tha melody Line, which really surprised me.  The beginning is just a descending bass line, d,c#,c,b…. over a D minor chord.  It’s the Fingering here that’s a Bitch.  I could Not get it right! I was switching positions, or trying to, with each bass note change, and That was Just a mess.  Gonna have to figure out how to do that right without all the unnecessary left hand motion.  There has to be an easier way, I just haven’t figured it out yet. 

That’s It For me.  There’s Not Much here at work, but since I’m flying solo this weekend, It’s ALL mine, which means I’ll be busy for several hours more.  Go Jam!

Today’s Nuggets:  Probably the greatest harm done by vast wealth is the harm that we of moderate means do ourselves when we let the vices of envy and hatred enter deep into our own natures. But there is another harm; and it is evident that we should try to do away with that. The great corporations which we have grown to speak of rather loosely as trusts are the creatures of the State, and the State not only has the right to control them, but it is duty bound to control them wherever the need of such control is shown.   Teddy Roosevelt

I don’t trust a man who talks about ethics when he is picking my pocket. But if he is acting in his own self-interest and says so, I have usually been able to work out some way to do business with him.    Robert Heinlein