Less is better


No run again today.  No workout again today.  This injury seems a little more serious than I had originally thought.  I can’t even walk for extended periods without pain, so running and working out are clearly out of the picture.  Sleep has always helped me heal and recover, and I’ve always been a fast healer, so maybe a good nights sleep may be just what the doctor ordered.  Hope I can fill that order, I have to wake up early tomorrow and do a lot of running around, so maybe not until Thursday morning will I get the sleep I need to heal up properly.

Damn thing HURTS.

I had to lean on my wife on a walk to a local supermarket, all of 6 or seven blocks away.  That is something that’s never been a problem for me.  I walk EVERYWHERE.  Distressing, but it happens.  I’ll be fine, just have to watch my diet while i heal.  Don’t wanna put on 15 pounds sitting on my ass waiting for my leg to heal.  That would suck!

Not Much to tell On the music front.  Jammed a bit, did the usual practice routine, and I have a few other things I want to do, didn’t run the gamut of alternate picking exercises today, gonna do some more of that.  I want one thing tho, and I’m going after it.  Sheet music/Tabulature for Petite Etude by Rik Emmett from Triumph.  Saw the tab on it, and I have to say, It looks hard, but not THAT Hard.  I’ve heard a lot of people say this thing is a Monster.

Time to find out I guess.

Don’t know If I’m up to it, but there’s only one way to find out.  News on that when warranted.  Gonna go practice my fingerpicking.  I’ve only ever done banjo type fingerpicking, picking with two fingers only, which may make the Petite Etude thing more difficult than it should be.  We’ll see.  Gonna give it a listen on you tube in a few.  I remember hearing a few versions of it there.  My brother was very impressed with it.  I wasn’t so.  Heard a mistake or two, understandable in a tough piece, but unforgivable in any event.  You play it again and make sure you don’t make the mistake if it takes a thousand takes.  Get it right before you put it out there.  That’s what I’m gonna do if and or when I ever get to recording and putting stuff on YouBoobtube.  🙂

That’s it for me, all.  Gonna go jam.  You go jam too.  Later.

Today’s Nuggets:  You have to believe in yourself, that’s the secret. Even when I was in the orphanage, when I was roaming the street trying to find enough to eat, even then I thought of myself as the greatest actor in the world. I had to feel the exuberance that comes from utter confidence in yourself. Without it, you go down to defeat.   Charlie Chaplin

When the superior scholar hears of Tao, he diligently practises it. When the average scholar hears of Tao, he sometimes retains it, sometimes loses it. When the inferior scholar hears of Tao, he loudly laughs at it. Were it not thus ridiculed, it would not be worthy of the name of Tao.  Lao Tzu

Leave a Reply

